clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 205   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

erans honorably discharged from the Armed
Forces of the United States, and the mem-
bers of their immediate family. Funds ap-
propriated were authorized by Chapter 775
of the Acts of 1974, to be used for the de-
velopment of veterans' cemeteries, rather
than the acquisition of sites, since State
land was to be used. The Commission was
directed to supervise, maintain and control
such cemeteries established. The office of
Program Manager was created for the pur-
pose of supervising the development of the
cemeteries and the establishment of proce-
dures for the administration of the veterans
cemetery program. Maryland veterans ceme-
teries are located as follows:
Eastern Shore — Dorchester County:
Route 331 East of Preston
Cheltenham — Prince George's County:
Route 301, Cheltenham
Rocky Gap — Allegany County: Off Route
40 Adjoining Rocky Gap State Park
Crownsville — Anne Arundel County:
On Keidel Ferry Road in Whitney's
Landing area
Garrison Forest — Baltimore County:
Garrison Forest Road in Rosewood area
Staff: 26.
*Full-time service centers only. All others pro-
vide itinerant service on a weekly, bi-weekly or
monthly basis.
Chairperson: Shoshana S. Cardin, 1979
Vice-Chairperson: Kathleen M. Carter, 1979
Daisy B. Fields, 1977; Winifred G. Helmes,
1977; Bertina A. Nick, 1977; Jo-Ann Or-
linsky, 1977; Joseph Lee Smith, 1977;
Emily M. Taylor, 1977; Lucille Gorham,
1978; Anne D. Hopkins, 1978; Edna D.
Johnson, 1978; Lee Joyce Richmond, 1978;
Jean E. Spencer, 1978; Jeanette R. Wol-
man, 1978; Rosalie S. Abrams, 1979; Sho-
shana S. Cardin, 1979; Kathleen M. Carter,
1979; James F. DeCarlo, Jr„ 1979; Jill M.
Greenberg, 1979; Marvin Rogoff, 1979;
Hattie N. Harrison, 1980; Stewart B. Oneg-
lia, 1980; Betty Pike, 1980; Lindsay Schlott-man,
1980; Esther S. Vines, 1980; Diane
H. Weaver, 1980.

Elaine L. Newman, Executive Director
1100 N. Eutaw Street,
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-5608
This Commission was originally appointed
by the Governor in 1965 to develop to its
fullest extent the potential of the women of
Maryland. The commission was reactivated
in 1968 as the Maryland Commission on
the Status of Women as part of the continu-
ing effort to promote human understanding
and solve the pressing social problems which
now confront the State and the nation.
The Governor directed the reorganized
Commission to review the recommendations
of the previous commission in the areas of
education, employment, community and
civic participation and to take steps to im-
plement those most pertinent. The Commis-
sion was also directed to seek the coopera-
tion of existing organizations on the State
and local levels in identifying problems, and
to work toward increasing the opportunities
for women to serve in a variety of fields.
By Chapter 57, Acts of 1971, the Com-
mission became a statutory agency, being
assigned to the Department of Human Re-
sources. The Commission consists of twen-
ty-four members all appointed by the Gov-
ernor from among persons interested in the
improvement of the status of women. Its
membership includes both men and women
and represents all fields of interest of women,
such as public affairs, private industry and
volunteer activities and includes all age
groups and geographical regions of the
State. Members serve four year terms and
may be re-appointed to one additional term
as a member of the Commission. The Gov-
ernor designates the Chairman and the Vice-
Chairman. The Commission adopted its
present name by Chapter 119, Acts of 1976
(Code 1957, 1972 Repl. Vol., 1976 Supp.,
Art. 49C).
Staff: 1975, 3; 1976, 3; 1977, 5.
Martha Reed, Council President
Karl Gilbert, Vice President
Richard Nugent, Chairman, Projects

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 205   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives