clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 226   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Member of the Board from the State of Maryland
William W. Eaton
Officers of the Board
Chairman: Don S. Smith, Arkansas
Vice Chairman: Peter J. Chenery, North Carolina
Treasurer: Herbert 0. Funsten, Virgina
James T. Goodwin, Executive Director
Suite 104, 7 Dunwoody Park
Atlanta, Georgia 30341 Telephone: 404—458-9343
The Southern Interstate Nuclear Board operates under the terms
of the Southern Interstate Nuclear Compact of 1961 (Public Law
89-563 ), which was ratified by the legislature of Maryland by Chapter
680, Acts of 1963. In addition to Maryland, seventeen states and the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico have ratified the Compact. The purpose
of the Southern Interstate Nuclear Board is to assist the member
states and the region to achieve benefits and meet responsibilities of
nuclear energy, space, and related technologies through direct staff
services and the pooling of energy, resources, special skills and talents
of personnel and physical capabilities.
The Southern Interstate Nuclear Board provides assistance to state
and local governments in areas of industry, agriculture, medicine,
labor, legislation, public health, public information, electric power,
education, transportation and environmental quality. The Maryland
representative on the Board serves for a term which runs concurrently
with that of the appointing Governor (Code 1957, 1971 Repl. Vol.,
Art. 41, sees. 319-332).
Chairman: Levio E.Zeni, 1976
Charles A. Delia, 1974; Richard H. Kent, 1974; Peter J. Vogel-
berger, Jr., 1974; Henry N. Wagner, Jr., M,D„ 1975; Vacancy,
1975; Young D. Hance, 1976; Joseph L. Marchello, 1976; Jean
Stifler, M.D., 1977; John C. Geyer, 1977; T. Edgie Russell III, 1977.
Department of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Bldg., Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 267-5382
The Maryland Advisory Commission on Atomic Energy was created
by Chapter 188, Acts of 1966. The Commission consists of eleven
members, appointed by the Secretary of Economic and Community
Development with the approval of the Governor for four-year terms,
with one member representing each of the following fields: agricul-
ture, atomic energy, industry, education, law, medicine, Maryland Port
Administration, power, public health, transportation, and sanitary
engineering. The Chairman is designated by the Secretary of Economic
and Community Development with the approval of the Governor.
The Commission was created to advise the Governor and State
officials on matters arising from the peaceful application of atomic
energy. Application of atomic energy to peaceful pursuits can result
in situations involving governmental responsibility of the State which
are novel and without precedent. Ready access to the advice of quali-
fied experts representing these various scientific disciplines, profes-
sions, productive arts and sectors of economic activity enables the

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 226   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives