clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 155   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Chairman: Robert H. Osborne, 1976
Appointed by the Secretary of General Services: Charles A.
Kreatchman, 1974; Aldine R. Bird, 1976; Thomas W. Simmons,
1977; Meyer Sokolow, 1978; Norris J. Walbert, Jr., 1978.
Appointed by the Mayor of Baltimore: Robert B. Watts, 1974;
John E. Brandau, 1976; Paul C. Wolman, 1977; John A.
Jarosinski, 1978.
Norman L. Gring, Executive Secretary
War Memorial Building, Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 685-7530
The War Memorial Commission, created by Chapter 537, Acts of
1924, consists of ten members, five of whom are appointed by the
Secretary of General Services, with the approval of the Governor, and
five who are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Baltimore. Each
member serves a five-year term and must be a Maryland War Veteran.
The Commission elects its own Chairman. It has custody and super-
vision of the War Memorial Building and the War Memorial Plaza,
which were erected to honor the men of Maryland who fought in
World War 1. The maintenance cost is shared equally by the State
and the City of Baltimore. The building is open and available for
meetings of veterans' groups and civic and patriotic societies, and for
civic gatherings, providing that no collection or donation is taken or
any admission charged. Applications for permission to use the building
should be addressed to the Commission (Code 1957, 1968 Repl. Vol.,
Art. 65, sees. 78-82).
Appropriations 1973 1974
General Funds ................. $44,126 $49,223
Staff: 9
President: Samuel E. Pruett, 1975
Frederick H. Hoover, 1975; C. L. Mobley, 1975
2217 Cloverleaf Road, Hagerstown 21740 Telephone: 582-1912
The Washington Cemetery Trustees were chartered by Chapter 213,
Acts of 1870. The three Trustees, appointed by the Secretary of
General Services for three-year terms, are responsible for the main-
tenance of Washington Cemetery, Hagerstown, where the Confederate
dead of the battles of Antietam and South Mountain are interred.
The Director of Engineering and Construction is responsible for
supervising the functions of the office and coordinating the design and
construction of all State public work projects.
The Land Acquisition Division is responsible for the purchase of
all land acquired under Program Open Space, as well as all land
acquired for State construction projects except roads and bridges
(Code 1957, 1969 Repl. Vol., 1972 Supp., Art 78A, sec. 19A).
The Division of Design and Approval renders advice and assistance
to State agencies on all matters involving engineering, surveys, plans,
specifications, and contracts for construction and repair of State
buildings. The Office prepares and reviews plans and specifications for
all public improvements, assists the Department of State Planning

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 155   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives