clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1971-72
Volume 175, Page 314   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space
Chairman Norman R Stone, Jr
Vice Chairman Carter M Hickman
Member from the Senate Alfred J Lipin
Members from the House of Delegates: Devin J Doolan, J.
Edward Malone
By Chapter 96, Acts of 1964, the Committee on Legislative Review
was created as a joint standing committee. The Committee consists of
two Senators and three Delegates appointed by the President of the
Senate and the Speaker of the House of Delegates respectively at the
conclusion of each regular session. Members serve for one year. The
Committee may inquire into the failure of an officer or employee of
either the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial Branches of the State
government to comply with the statutory or constitutional law of the
State. The Committee may also review the rules and regulations which
are adopted by any State agency in the Executive Branch as to their
legality and make any necessary recommendations. The Committee is
to report annually to the Legislative Council and to the General
Assembly (Code 1957, 1971 Repl Vol, Art 40, sec 40A).
Appropriations 1971 1972
General Funds $652,936 $323,000
The membership of the House of Delegates was fixed at 142 dele-
gates by Chapter 2, Acts of the Special Session of October II, 1965
(Code 1957, 1971 Repl Vol., Art 40, sees. 42-42D, 47-47C) Each
county was guaranteed a minimum of one delegate, with the remainder
(118) apportioned after this initial award Any county awarded more
than eight delegates must be divided into districts Likewise, Baltimore
City must be divided into additional legislative districts if it receives
more than 48 delegates. In Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County,
Montgomery County, and Prince George's County, and in Baltimore
City, the members of the House of Delegates are elected from the same
subdistricts as members of the Senate In all other counties, members
of the House of Delegates are elected at large. Membership in the
House of Delegates is as follows .
Allegany County - - 4 Delegates
Anne Arundel County 9 Delegates
Baltimore County -- - 22 Delegates
Calvert County --- I Delegate
Caroline County - I Delegate
Carroll County . - 2 Delegates
Cecil County - - - - 2 Delegates
Charles County „ -- 2 Delegates
Dorchester County I Delegate
Frederick County „ - - 3 Delegates
Garrett County - - I Delegate
Harford County - - 4 Delegates
Howard County - - 2 Delegates
Kent County -«.- - - - I Delegate
Montgomery County -- - 16 Delegates

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1971-72
Volume 175, Page 314   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives