clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1961-62
Volume 169, Page 156   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

the Attorney General, the Director of the Department of Budget and
Procurement, and the Chairman of the Maryland State Planning Com-
mission; and two other administrative officials appointed by the Gov-
ernor; (2) The Senate Committee, and (3) The House Committee, both
of which are regular standing committees of the two branches of the
General Assembly.

It is the function of this Commission to carry forward the partici-
pation of the State as a member of the Council of State Governments.
It encourages and assists the legislative, executive, administrative, and
judicial officials and employees of Maryland to develop and maintain
friendly contact with officials and employees of the other States, of
the Federal government, and of local units of government. It formu-
lates proposals for, and works towards, the adoption of compacts,
uniform or reciprocal statutes and administrative rules; it promotes
the cooperation of government officials with one another; and in gen-
eral it works to bring the various governments in the United States
into closer contact and to develop the Council of State Governments
for this purpose. The Commission may establish delegations and com-
mittees to carry on its work and is required by the creating Act to
report to the Governor and to the Legislature within fifteen days after
the convening of each regular session and at other times deemed
appropriate (Code 1957, Art. 40, sees. 15-26).


Chairman: M. King Hill, Jr., 1963
Morton M. Robinson, 1962; Harrison L, Winter, 1963

Commercial Credit Building, Baltimore I Telephone: 727-1164

The General Assembly, by Chapter 264, Acts of 1896, established the
Commission for the Promotion of Uniformity of Legislation. The Gov-
ernor, every four years, appoints three Commissioners, who represent
Maryland in the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform
State Laws. They receive no salary but are allowed their actual dis-
bursements for expenses (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 163, 154). The Com-
missioners meet on call of the chairman to determine what acts to
sponsor before the Legislative Council of Maryland. The National
Conference drafts laws to be submitted to the legislatures of the
several states and recommends measures for the promotion of uniform

Appropriations 1961 1962

General Funds $2,500 $3,000
Staff: None.


Commissioners from the State of Maryland

Chairman, Commission of Tidewater Fisheries: Dr. H. C. Byrd
Appointed by the Commission on Interstate Cooperation: Charles

M. Moore
Appointed by the Governor: George T. Harrison, 1962

Officers of the Commission

Chairman: G. Robert Lunz, South Carolina
Vice Chairman: David H. Hart, New Jersey
Secretary-Treasurer: Wayne D. Heydecker, New York


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1961-62
Volume 169, Page 156   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives