clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1961-62
Volume 169, Page 115   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

cant upon payment of the stipulated fee (Code 1967, Art. 66C, sees.

Appropriations 1961 1962

General Funds $61,243 $61,928
Staff: 7.


Chairman: Maurice Siegal, 1963

Ex officio members: Robert M. Brown, State Board of Health and
Mental Hygiene; Joseph H. Manning, Chairman, Board of Nat-
ural Resources; L. Eugene Cronin, Director, Natural Resources
Institute, University of Maryland; Ernest A. Vaughn, Director,
Department of Game and Inland Fish.

Appointed members: Royal H. Carlock, 1965; George F. Hazelwood,
Paul W. McKee, Director

State Office Building, Annapolis Telephone: Colonial 8-3371

The Water Pollution Control Commission was created by Chapter
697, Acts of 1947 upon the recommendation of the temporary Com-
mittee on Water Pollution, which had been designated in 1945 to study
the problem of water pollution. The Commission consists of seven
members, three of whom are appointed by the Governor for six-year
terms. The other four members are the Chairman of the Board of
Natural Resources, the Director of the Department of Game and
Inland Fish, the Director of the Natural Resources Institute, Univer-
sity of Maryland, and a representative of the State Board of Health
and Mental Hygiene. The Chairman, who must be one of the appointed
members, is designated by the Governor. By act of the 1959 General
Assembly, the Water Pollution Control Commission became a member
department of the Board of Natural Resources (Acts 1959, chap. 695).

The Commission makes regulations to prevent the pollution of Mary-
land streams and waters. It investigates all sources of stream pollu-
tion. It may request known polluters to correct the situation, and
should they fail to comply, the Commission may order them to fulfill
the request within a definite period of time. Any polluter who has a
complaint or feels a specific hardship in complying may receive a
hearing before the Commission. The Commission has collected data
about municipal sewage disposal and about stream pollution in the
various regions of the State, The Commission is located in the State
Office Building ill Annapolis and maintains in that location a labora-
tory where it determines through chemical analysis the amount and
cause of water pollution (Code 1957, Art. 66C, sees. 34-45).

Appropriations 1961 1962

General & Special Funds $125,873 $164,743
Staff: 21.


Chairman: Gordon M. Cairns, Ph.D.,
Dean of Agriculture, University of Maryland
Ex officio members: T. B. Symons, State Board of Agriculture;
Irvin C. Haut, Director, Agricultural Experiment Station; Paul
E. Nystrom, Director, Agricultural Extension Service; Joseph


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1961-62
Volume 169, Page 115   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives