clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1959-60
Volume 168, Page 140   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


President: L. Lynn Emmart, D.D.S., 1963
C. Adam Bock, D.D.S., 1961; Albert W. Morris, D.D.S., 1961;
Howard B. Wood, D.D.S., 1963; Samuel H. Hoover, D.D.S., 1965.
Frank J. Bryce, D.D.S., Secretary, 1965

303 Granville Drive, Silver Spring Telephone: Juniper 9-5877

The General Assembly established this Board in 1884. The Governor
appoints its six members for six-year terms. He appoints two members
biennially from a list of four practicing dentists furnished by the
Maryland State Dental Association. The Dental Practice Act of the
State provides that this Board regulate the practice of dentistry by
testing the qualifications of candidates for licenses in dentistry and in
dental hygiene.

All applicants for licenses to practice dentistry must be at least
twenty-one years of age and graduates of dental colleges duly incor-
porated to grant degrees in Dental Surgery by the laws of one of the
United States or Canada. All applicants for a license to practice dental
hygiene must be graduates of a school for dental hygienists requiring
at least two years of study and approved by the State Board of Dental
Examiners. Examinations, held twice every year, are both written and
practical. Every dentist and every dental hygienist must register
annually (Code 1957, Art. 32).

Appropriations 1959 1960

Special Funds $4,696 $4,960
Staff: None.


Chairman: Benjamin Roll, 1961
John F. Teves, 1961; John G. Buettner, 1961;
George L. Homer, 1961; Thomas E. Pierson, 1961

301 W. Preston Street, Baltimore I Telephone: Vernon 7-9000

The first board for the examining and licensing of plumbers in
Maryland was established in 1886 with jurisdiction limited to Balti-
more City. The General Assembly established the present Commission
in 1910. Its jurisdiction includes all of the State, excepting Prince
George's and Montgomery counties. The Board is composed of five
members appointed by the Governor for two-year terms. One member
must be from Western Maryland, one from Southern Maryland, one
from the Eastern Shore, and two from Baltimore. The Commission
examines and certifies journeyman and master plumbers. Master
plumbers must have held journeyman certificates for at least two
years prior to applying for a master's certificate. All certificates must
be renewed annually. Appeals from the results of examinations may
be taken to a board of arbiters, composed of one member appointed by
the appellant, one by the Commission, and a third by the other two
members of the arbitration board. All members of the Board must be
certified plumbers within the State (Code 1957, Art. 43, sees. 326-38),

Appropriations 1959 1960

Special Funds „....., .„„.„„. .„ ......... ... $4,767 $4,934
Staff: None.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1959-60
Volume 168, Page 140   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives