clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1955-56
Volume 166, Page 70   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Eugene J. Lefritz, 1955; William D. Noble, M.D., 1956;
I. Ridgeway Trimble, M.D., 1957; P. J. McMillin, 1957.
The Advisory Board on Hospital Licensing was established in 1946.
It consists of seven members appointed by the Governor for a term
of five years. The Board recommends and assists the Department of
Health in the establishment of minimum standards for the licensing
of hospitals within the State (Code 1961, Art. 43, sec. 625).


Robert H. Riley, M.D., Dr. P.H., Director, State Depart-
ment of Health; Clifton T. Perkins, M.D., Commissioner of
Mental Hygiene; Huntington Williams, M.D., Dr. P.H., Com-
missioner of Health, Baltimore City; W. D. Noble, M.D.,
1957; Harvey Weiss, 1957; Harold Tschudi, 1957; Charles T.
Woodland, M.D., 1958; Peregrine Wroth, Jr., M.D., 1955;
C. E. Wise, Jr., 1955; Mrs. E. W. Ditto, 1958; Maurice
Pincoffs, M.D., 1956; J. Douglas Colman, M.D., 1956; Walter D.
Wise, M.D., 1956; Winford H. Smith, M.D., 1956; Brady J.
Dayton, 1956; Ernest L. Stebbins, M.D., 1956.

The Advisory Board on Hospital Construction was established in
1947. It is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor
fora term of three years. In addition to the appointive members,
the Commissioner of Mental Hygiene and the Commissioner of Health
of Baltimore City serve ex-officio and two members are appointed by
the Maryland State Planning Commission. The Council is to consult
and advise with the Board of Health in the administration of a State
plan of Hospital Construction under the terms of the Hill-Burton Act
(Code 1951, Art. 43, sec. 628).

Board of Directors

Appointed by the Governor: Chairman: W. O. McLean,
M.D., 1959; A. Charles Stewart, 1959; Veri Ash, 1957; John
Stewart, 1957.

Elected by the Board: Michael J. Byrnes, 1955; Walter J.
Mackey, 1955; Harry Teter, 1955.
Mary T. Howie, R.N., Superintendent

54 Tarn Terrace, Frostburg Telephone: Frostburg 27S

Miners Hospital, established in 1912, is governed by a Board of
Trustees of seven members, four of whom are appointed by the
Governor for terms of four years; three members are elected by the
Board for two-year terms (Acts 1912, ch. 441).

The Hospital, founded originally for the purpose of providing hos-
pital facilities to miners and their families, today serves as a general
hospital for the residents of Frostburg and vicinity. The capacity
of the hospital is 77 beds. During the fiscal year 1354, the hospital
served a total of 1,359 patients.

Appropriations 1955 1956
General Fund ............................ $110,467 $133,735
Special Fund .............................. 119,000 120,000

Total .................................... $229,467 $263,736
Staff: 56.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1955-56
Volume 166, Page 70   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives