clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 65   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Hospitals. The term of each member is for two years. The Council
advises the Department of Health in the formulation of policies in
regard to the administration of the medical care program (Acts 1951,
Ch. 75).

Chairman: Winford H. Smith, M.D., 1953

P. J. McMillin, 1952; Ridgeway Trimble, M.D., 1952; Wil-
liam L. Galvin, 1954; J. Oliver Purvis, M.D., 1954; J. Douglas
Colman, 1955; William D. Noble, M.D., 1956.

The Advisory Board on Hospital Licensing was established in
1945. It consists of seven members appointed by the Governor for a
term of five years. The Board recommends and assists the Depart-
ment of Health in the establishment of minimum standards for the
licensing of hospitals within the State (Code 1947 Supp., Art. 43,
sec. 496-1).


Clifton T. Perkins, M.D., Commissioner of Mental Hygiene;
Huntington Williams, M.D., Commissioner of Health, Balti-
more City; Mrs. Roy C. F. Weagly, 1952; C. E. Wise, Jr.,
1952; Peregrine E. Wroth, Jr., M.D., 1952; Charles T. Wood-
land, M.D., 1952; Robert H. Riley, M.D., Director, State De-
partment of Health, 1953; J. Douglas Colman, 1953; Maurice
C. Pincoffs, M.D., 1953; Winford H. Smith, M.D., 1953; Er-
nest L. Stebbins, M.D., 1953; Walter D. Wise, M.D., 1953;
Brady J. Dayton, 1953; W. D. Noble, M.D., 1954; Harvey H.
Weiss, Superintendent, Sinai Hospital, 1954; Harold Tschudi,

The Advisory Board on Hospital Construction was established in
1947. It is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor
for a term of three years, but of those first appointed, three serve for
one year, four for two years, and four for three years. In addition to
the appointive members, the Commissioner of Mental Hygiene and
the Commissioner of Health of Baltimore City serve ex-officio and two
members are appointed by the Maryland State Planning Commission.
The Council is to consult and advise with the Board of Health in the
administration of .a State plan of Hospital Construction under the
terms of the Hill-Burton Act (Acts 1951, Ch. 75).

Board of Trustees

Appointed by the Governor: Chairman: W. O. McLean,
M.D., 1955; J. Edwin Winters, Vice Chairman, 1953; William
Jenkins, Sr., 1953; A. Charles Stewart, 1955.

Elected by the Board: Michael J. Byrnes, 1951; Walter J.
Mackey, 1951; William Lemert, 1951.
Mary T. Howie, R.N., Superintendent

54 Tarn Terrace, Frostburg Telephone: Frostburg 275

Miners Hospital, established in 1912, is governed by a Board of
Trustees of seven members, four of whom are appointed by the Gov-
ernor for terms of four years; three members are elected by the Board
for two year terms (Acts 1912, Ch. 441).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 65   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives