clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 109   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Cumberland: Liberty Trust Building
Frederick: Winchester Hall
Hagerstown: 126 North Potomac Street
Hyattsville: State Armory
Rockville: Courthouse

Expenditures, 1950 $119,063.49
Apropriation, 1951 141,282.00

Staff: 21.

Chairman: Richard C. O'Connell, 1952

Appointed by the Governor: Herbert C. Blake, M.D., 1953:
George D. Harman, 1954; William F. Dawson, 1955; Harry
C. Ruhl, 1956.

Appointed by the Mayor of Baltimore; Paul C. Wolman,
1952; Albert O. Rabassa, 1953; Abraham Watner, 1954; Paul
J. Weidorfer, 1955; James J. McGuirk, 1961.
Thomas G. McNicholas, Superintendent

War Memorial Building, Baltimore 2 Telephone: Mulberry 7530

The War Memorial Commission was created in 1924. The Commis-
sion is composed of ten members, five of whom are appointed by the
Governor and five by the Mayor of the City of Baltimore. The term
of office is five years. The Commission elects its own chairman. The
Commission has custody and supervision of the War Memorial Build-
ing, erected as a memorial to the men of Maryland who fought in
World War I. The cost of maintenance of the Memorial is shared
equally by the State and the City of Baltimore. The building is open
and available for meetings of veterans' groups, civic and patriotic
societies, and for civic gatherings, providing that no collection or dona-
tion is received or admission charged for any meeting or program held
in the building. Applications for permission to use the building should
be addressed to the Commission (Code 1939, Art. 65, secs. 85-89).
Expenditures, 1950 .. $11,659.97
Appropriation, 1951 (State) 10,500.00*

Staff; 9


Chairman: Charles R. Stalling, Jr., 1954

Albert D. Hutzler, 1952; Thomas E. R. Fields, 1952; Milton
Tolle, 1962; Elijah E. Nichols, 1954; Thomas B. Sprague,
1956; John A. Moody, 1956; Elmer F. Munshower, 1956.

903 Garrett Building, Baltimore 2 Telephone: Saratoga 6760

The Arsenal and Veterans Memorial Commission was established in
1936. It is composed of eight members appointed by the Governor for

*Includes Veterans Relief Funds of $75.000

**The amount appropriated is to be half the cost of maintenance,
but not exceeding the amount specified.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 109   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives