clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1950
Volume 163, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


The funds for the administration of the Board are contained in
the appropriation of the Industrial Accident Commission.

Expenditures, 1949 ......---..........-$175,398.08

Appropriation, 1950 ...................---. 180,620.00

Staff: 51.



Chairman: William B. Lebherz, 1953
Albert H. Blum, Vice Chairman, 1952; John P. Stafford,
Secretary, 1950; Royden S. Meise, 1964; J. Edmund Mc-
Garry, 1951.

Richard K. Coggins, Superintendent
M. Katherine Sahm, Administrative Assistant
Philip T. McCusker, Attorney to the Board
31 Light Street, Baltimore 2 Telephone: Plaza 4877

The State Accident Fund, originally a part of the State Industrial
Accident Commission, was established as a separate agency in 1941.
The State Accident Fund is under the direction of a board of five
members appointed by the Governor for a term of five years, the term
of one member expiring each year (Acts 1949, Ch. 266). The Board
annually elects its officers. The Board also appoints the Superin-
tendent who has active direction of the agency. The Board is further
empowered to make such rules and regulations as may be necessary
to administer the Accident Fund. The State Accident Fund is the
State's Workmen's Compensation Insurance Carrier. Through the
fund employers may carry insurance for the payment of claims
which may arise from accidents and injuries to the employees as al-
lowed under the Workmen's Compensation Law. Representatives of
the State Accident Fund are located at Easton and Frederick.

Expenditures, 1949 ......................-$ 95,999.01

Appropriation, 1950 ...................... ...... 109,980.00

Staff: 25.



Chairman: William H. Mahaney, 1955
Joseph P. McCurdy, 1951; Carl F. Gail, 1953.
Advisory Council:

Representing the Public: Lee L. Dopkin, Chairman of the

Representing the Employer: Joseph P. Healy, James E.

Representing the Employee: Ralph C. Beard, John E.

Stephen C. Cromwell, Director, Unemployment Compensation


David L. B. Fringer, Director, Employment Service Division
Grafton Lee Brown, Veterans Employment Representative

for Maryland
6 N. Liberty St., Baltimore 1 Telephone: Mulberry 5400


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1950
Volume 163, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives