clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1938
Volume 157, Page 120   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


By Chapter I of the Acts of the Special Session of 1986, the Legis-
lature established a Commission to be known as "The Albert C.
Ritchie Memorial Commission," composed of 60 persons appointed by
the Governor.

The Act was passed in tribute to the late Honorable Albert C.
Ritchie, four times Governor of Maryland and once its Attorney
General, and the Commission was authorized to receive gifts and
contributions for the purpose of erecting or establishing a fitting
memorial or memorials to him. The Commission was empowered to
acquire and hold land necessary for the purpose of said memorials
and to do all acts necessary in the carrying out of its purposes.

The general chairman of this Commission is Col. Stuart S. Janney,
1335 Baltimore Trust Bldg., Walter N. Kirkman, Secretary, 2411
N. Charles St., and Mrs. Eliz. W. Smith, Corresponding Secretary, 1335
Baltimore Trust Bldg.


(Ch. 49—Special Session, 1936)

This Act provided for the appointment by the Governor of a
Commission of nine members, to serve without pay, three for a term
of two years, three for four years and three for six years, beginning
within 20 days from June 1, 1936, and thereafter all terms to be
for six years, the chairman also to be designated by the Governor.

The purpose of the Commission is to take over the custody, control
and management of the property and buildings at Pikesville, Balti-
more County, known as the Maryland Line Confederate Soldiers
Home; restore and furnish the buildings and maintain the property
as a monument to those of the State of Maryland who died in the
military service of the United States or of the Confederate States;
establish therein an historical museum and library and also home for
destitute soldiers, and also utilize the buildings for other public

The members appointed are:
Members (Term Expires)
George M. Shriver, Chairman ...1942. .. Pikesville Md.
Dr. W. P. E. Wyse ... ... 1942 ... . Pikesville Md.
Edgar O. Hobbs -... ... 1942 . ... Catonsville Md.
Milton Tolle ...... 1940 . .. Baltimore Md.
Alex. T. Grier .. .. ...1940 Salisbury Md.
William R. Howard 3d . ... 1940 , Chattolanee Md
John A. Moody . .... 1944 Annapolis Md
Col. Stuart S. Janney .. .. 1944 Garrison Md
Lt. Col. Elmer F. Munshower 1944. Frederick Md.


By Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1937, a Board of Trustees con-
sisting of the State Comptroller, Budget Director and Employment
Commissioner, ex-officio, and two citizens of the State, who are not
state employees, to be appointed by the Governor, was created to
make rules and regulations for administration of Article 73B, title
"Pension," of the Code of Public General Laws, and to make a study
of retirement systems and to report to the next session of the General
Assembly with recommendations as to the advisability of creating a


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1938
Volume 157, Page 120   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives