clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1938
Volume 157, Page 116   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


(Chapter 409, Acts of 1936.)
(Amended Ch. 6, Acts of Extra Session, 1936.)

George W. Legge, Chairman . .1941 ... ....... Cumberland

(Appointed by the Governor)

Owen E. Hitchins ............ 1939 ... Cumberland
(Appointed by Board of County Commissioners of Allegany County)
George Warnick .. . ... .. 1943 Bloomington
(Appointed by Board of County Commissioners of Garrett County)

The Commission is composed of three members, one appointed by
the County Commissioners of Garrett County, one by the County Com-
missioners of Allegany County, and the third by the Governor, who
also designates the Chairman. The terms of the Commissioners are
six years from May 1, 1935, except those first appointed by the County
Commissioners of Garrett County and Allegany County serve for two
and four years, respectively, and their successors for six years, so
that the term of one Commissioner shall expire biennially.

The purpose of the law creating the Commission is to conserve,
regulate and control water resources within the Upper Potomac River
District, consisting of Allegany County and Election District No. 4
of Garrett County; and the Commission is authorized to acquire
lands, structures or buildings, or any stream bed, waterway, water-
shed or water rights, for the construction, operation and maintenance
of any dam, reservoir, etc. The County Commissioners of Allegany
County are authorized to levy taxes for the operation, maintenance,
regulation and control of works purchased, acquired or constructed
under the Act.

By Chapter 6 of the Acts of the Special Session of 1936, the County
Commissioners of Allegany County were authorized to issue bonds or
to borrow from any governmental agency any amount up to $200,-
000, to aid said Commission in the acquisition of lands or for the con-
struction or maintenance of lands, dams, reservoirs, etc., whenever
deemed advisable or expedient, without submitting the question of
advisability to the voters of the County, and to make a special tax
levy for the purpose of paying the principal and interest of the bonds
or loan.


Acts 1929, Chapter 322.

To investigate and recommend to the Legislature plans and policies
for the protection of the waterfront and waterways of the State
against erosion, for the improvement of said waterfront and water-
ways and to cooperate in carrying into effect such plans for the devel-
opment of the waterfront property within the State as may be adopted
by the Legislature:
Eastern Shore:

Mayor William W. McCabe, Ocean City (1939)(Democrat)
Southern Maryland:

John B. Gray, Jr., Prince Frederick (1939) .. ....... ...(Democrat)
Baltimore City:
John E. Greiner, 1201 St. Paul St., Baltimore

(1944) (Republican)
Western Shore:
Captain Chester A. Wells, Chevy Chase (1943) ... (Republican)


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1938
Volume 157, Page 116   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives