clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1936
Volume 155, Page 113   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Members of the Commission for Revision of Maryland

Motor Vehicle Laws

John E. Raine, Chairman of Revision, 1200 St. Paul Street; Auto-
mobile Trade Association of Maryland.
General Charles D. Gaither, Fayette and Fallsway; Commissioner of


D. Marshall Schroeder, Guilford Ave. and 21st St.; Deputy Commis-
sioner of Motor Vehicles.

Paul L. Holland, 1701 Munsey Building; Chief Engineer.P. S. C.
Nathan L. Smith, Federal Reserve Bank Bidg.; State Roads Com-

Preston D. Callum, Keyser Building; Baltimore Safety Council.
George A. Dornin, 319 Hawthorne Road; Grand Juriors Association.
Henry B. Potter, 803 Court Square Bldg.; Baltimore Transit Co.
Palmer C. Nickerson, 316 Baltimore Life Bldg.; Automobile Club of


Thomas F. Comber, Johns Hopkins University.
John G. Schilpp, First National Bank Bldg.; Baltimore Bar Assn.
Wendell D. Allen, 1209 Calvert Bldg.; Maryland Bar Association.
W. W. Cloud, 508 E. Preston St.; Taxicab Association.
George 0. Pooley, 4413 Groveland Avenue; Society of Automobile


G. P. Knox, 810 N. Charles St.; Manager Keystone Automobile Club.
Joseph Davidson, 400 Key Highway; Maryland Motor Truck Assn.
John White, 4401 York Road; Highways Users Conference of Mary-
Judge J. Abner Sayler, Fallsway and Fayette Sts.; Chief Justice

Traffic Court.
Edward McK. Johnson, Guilford and 21st Sts.; Captain of Maryland

State Police.
William Randolph, Secretary of Revision; 1200 St. Paul Street.

By Chapter I of the Acts of the Special Session of 1936, the Legis-
lature established a Commission to be known as "The Albert C.
Ritchie Memorial Commission," composed of 60 persons appointed by
the Governor.

The Act was passed in tribute to the late Honorable Albert C.
Ritchie, four times Governor of Maryland and once its Attorney
General, and the Commission was authorized to receive gifts and
contributions for the purpose of erecting or establishing a fitting
memorial or memorials to him. The Commission was empowered to
acquire and hold land necessary for the purpose of said memorials
and to do all acts necessary in the carrying out of its purposes.

The general chairman oi this Commission is Col. Stuart S. Janney,
1335 Baltimore Trust Bidg., Walter N. Kirkman, Secretary, 2411
N. Charles St., and Mrs. Eliz. W. Smith, Corresponding Secretary, 1335
Baltimore Trust Bldg.


(Ch. 49.Special Session, 1936)

This Act provided for the appointment by the 'Governor of a
Commission of nine members, to serve without pay, three for a term
of two years, three for four years and three for six years, beginning
within 30 days from June 1, 1936, and thereafter all terms to be
for six years, the chairman also to be designated by the Governor.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1936
Volume 155, Page 113   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives