clear space clear space clear space white space
A
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1933
Volume 150, Page 98   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>
clear space clear space clear space white space
98 MARYLAND MANUAL.

ST. MARY'S COUNTY

Dr. Leonard B. Johnson . . ... Morganza
Mrs. Roy Guyther . ... ... Mechanicsville
Mrs. John Bryant . . California
John Briscoe ... ... . Leonardtown

SOMERSET COUNTY

Mrs. T. J. Smith . .. . Princess Anne
Dr. George Colborn . . . Princess Anne
Mrs. Harry B. Coulbourn . Marion
Mrs. Mayne Collins ..... . Crisfield
Dr. S. P. Fuller ... . Crisfield

TALBOT COUNTY

James Dixon . . . Easton
Elbert Marshall . . . Easton
Mrs. Edwin G. Cover . ... ... Easton
Mrs. William T. Hammond Easton

WICOMICO COUNTY

Mrs. Marion V. Brewington Salisbury
Mrs. Victor H. Laws R. F. D., Parsonsburg
F. W. C. Webb . . Salisbury
Mrs. Fred P. Adkins Salisbury
Charles E. Tilghman . ... . Salisbury

WORCESTER COUNTY

Miss Olivia J. Costen . . ..... Pocomoke City
Mrs. Newell Corddry . . Snow Hill
Mrs. George E. Dryden . Snow Hill
Mrs. Orlando Harrison . . Berlin
Dr. Zadok P. Henry ... Berlin

BEER LEGISLATION AND LICENSING

The Legislature of 1933 took prompt advantage of the liberalization
of the Volstead Act, and the sale of beer was authorized in Baltimore
City, and in all counties of the State except three, Caroline, Carroll
and Garrett Counties, in each of which the same WAS made subject to
a referendum.

The State wide beer law is Chapter 213 of the Acts of 1933. This
Act legalizes the manufacture, transportation and sale of beer and
wines containing 3.2 percentum of alcohol by weight. Licenses are
granted by the Clerks of the several Circuit Courts, and are divided
into two classes. "On Sale Licenses" permit the sale of such beverages
for consumption on the premises only, and the license fee for this is
$50 00 a year. "Off Sale Licenses" permit the sale of such beverages
in packages containing not less than one dozen bottles, or single con-
tainers of not less than five gallons content, for consumption off the
premises only, and the license fee for this is $25 00 a year.

Each application for a license must be supported by the affidavit of
ten reputable citizens, voters and taxpayers. The application must then

 

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1933
Volume 150, Page 98   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact mdlegal@mdarchives.state.md.us.

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives