clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1933
Volume 150, Page 280   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


This Convention was provided for by Chapter 253 of the Acts
of 1933.

The Act provides for the nomination of three sets of candidates to
the Convention, one set pledged to vote for repeal, the second set pledged
to vote against repeal and the third set unpledged. For each class there
shall be nominated three candidates from each Congressional district
and six candidates from the State at large. The election was held
September 12, 1933, and the Act names the committee to make the
above nominations. The Constitutional Convention was held in the State
House, Annapolis, on October 18, 1933.

The nominating committee is as follows:

Baltimore City Name Address
1st Legis. Dist. William F. Jacobs 120 S. Washington St.
2nd Legis. Dist. William L. Rawls Maryland Trust Bldg.
3rd Legis. Dist. .Harry G.Talbot 604 Venable Ave.
4th Legis. Dist Louis N. Frank 1007 W. North Ave.
5th Legis. Dist. James T Verney 3121 Presbury St.
6th Legis. Dist. Gilbert A. Dailey 129 E Redwood St.


Allegany Thomas B. Finan Cumberland
Anne Arundel George T. Cromwell Ferndale
Baltimore Harrison Rider Towson
Calvert .. .H Clare Briscoe Ireland Crock
Caroline Charles B Harrison . Preston
Carroll James M, Shriver Westminster
Cecil . James F. Evans Elkton
Charles Thomas P. McDonagh LaPlata
Dorchester ... Samuel Bvrn Cambridge
Frederick James H Cramer Frederick
Garrett Asa T Matthews Oakland
Harford Robert H. Archer Belair
Howard . Joshua N. Warfield Florence
Kent .Marion deK. Smith, Jr Chestertown
Montgomery J. Bond Smith Tucoma Park
Prince George's George N Palmer Seat Pleasant
Queen Anne's Dr. C. H Metcalfe Sudlersville
St. Mary's Dr. Francis F Greenwell Leonardtown
Somerset Edgar A Jones Princess Anne
Talbot T. Hughlett Henry Easton
Washington J Vincent Jamison, Jr. Hagerstown
Wicomico Paul E. Watson Salisbury
Worcester Hoi ace Davis Berlin

This Committee met in Annapolis on June 21, 1933, and nominated
the following candidates to the Convention:


For Ratification of the 21st Amendment, Repealing the 18th Amendment;
J. McFadden Dick, Salisbury, Wicomico County.
R. Bennett Darnall, Ruxton, Baltimore County.
Mrs. Helen S. Athey, 100 S. Patterson Park Ave., Baltimore City.
Mrs. Ella T. Clotworthy, 4406 Greenway, Baltimore City.
Joseph P. McCurdy, 101 W. element St., Baltimore City.
Miss Elizabeth Lowndes, Cumberland, Allegany County.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1933
Volume 150, Page 280   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives