clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1905
Volume 117, Page 115   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

24. Sir Edmund Andros, Governor of Virginia, commissioned by Wm.
and Mary, March 3, 1692, to act as Governor in case of absence of
Copley and death of Nicholson, took possession of the Govern-
ment September 25, 1693- (He left Colonel Nicholas Greenberry,
President of the Council, as his deputy until May, 1694, when Sir
Thomas Lawrence was reinstated).

24. Francis Nicholson, commissioned by William and Mary, February
24, 1692, to succeed Copley in event of his death or absence, recom-
missioned February 10, 1693-41 assumed authority July 26, 1694.

25. Nathaniel Blaikston, commissioned by William, October 19, 1698,

assumed authority January 2, 1698-9.

26. Thomas Tench, President of the Council, left in charge of the
government when Blaikston sailed for England June 30, 1702.

27. John Seymour, commissioned by the Crown February 12, 1702-3,
took charge of the government April 12, 1704, died July 30, 1709.

28. Edward Lloyd, President of the Council, was so chosen by the
Council on Seymour's death, as Francis Jenkins, the first mem-
ber of the Council took no action.

29. Captain John Hart, commissioned by the Crown January 17, 1714.
recommissioned by the Lord Proprietary May 30, 1715, arrived in
the Province May 29, 1714. He went to England in May, 1720,
leaving Thomas Brooke, President of the Council, in charge of

30. Captain Charles Calvert, cousin of the Proprietary, commissioned
by him February (?), 1719-20, arrived in the Province as early as
October, 1720.

31. Benedict Leonard Calvert, commission dated March 24, 1726-7,
took oath of office July 3, 1727.

32. Samuel Ogle, commission dated September 16, 1731, took oath of
office December 7,1731.

33. Charles Calvert, Lord Proprietary, in person, December 11, 1732.

34. Samuel Ogle, commission dated June 20, 1733, took oath of office
July 11, 1733.

35. Thomas Biaden, commission dated April 19, 1742, took oath of office
August 23, 1742.

36. Samuel Ogle, commission dated October 3, 1746, took oath of office
March 16, 1746-7.

37. Benjamin Tasker, President of the Council, took oath of office May
4, 1752, the day after Ogle's death.

38. Horatio Sharpe, commissioned March 17, 17531 took oath of office
August 10, 1753.

39. Captain Robert Eden, brother-in-law of the Proprietary, commis-
sioned August 1, 1768, arrived in the Province June, 1769. (During
his absence in England from May 28 to November 8, 17741 Richard
Lee, President of the Council, acted as Governor), Eden left
Annapolis June 26, 1776, and Lee was titular governor until the
Province formally declared its independence of Great Britain,
July 3,1776.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1905
Volume 117, Page 115   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives