clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1903
Volume 115, Page 113   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Barons of Baltimore and Lords Proprietary of Maryland.

GEORGE CALVERT, First Lord Baltimore.
Lords Proprietary.

1632—Caecilius Calvert, Second Lord Baltimore.

1675—-Charles Calvert, Third Lord Baltimore.

1715—Benedict Leonard Calvert, Fourth Lord Baltimore.

1715—Charles Calvert, Fifth Lord Baltimore.

1751—Frederick Calvert, Sixth and last Lord Baltimore.

1771 to 1776—Henry Harford, last Proprietary.

A List of Those Who Governed Maryland Before 1776.*

1. William Claiborne governed Kent Island under the authority of
Virginia from August 1631 to 1633.

2. Leonard Calvert, commissioned by Caecilius, Lord Proprietary in
1633, arrived in Maryland March 25, 1634, died June lo, 1647.
(From February, 1645, until fall of 1646, he was in Virginia,
whither he fled from Richard Ingle, who usurped the govern-
ment and ruled for some months. After Ingle left, there was
anarchy for a year, until the Council chose Capt. Edward Hill as
governor. This appointment was confirmed by Leonard Cal-
vert. During Leonard Calvert's absences from the Province the
following acted as governor by his appointment: John Lewger,

3. Thomas Greene, named by Leonard Calvert as his successor, served
until March, 1649.

4. William Stone, commissioned by the Proprietary August 6, 1648.
assumed office April, 1649, deposed by Parliamentary commis-
sioners March 29, 1652. During absences from the Province the
following acted as governor by his appointment: Thomas
Greene, May to July, and September to December, 1649; Thomas
Hattou, June, 1650.

5. Richard Bennett, Edmund Curtis and William Claiborne, Par-
liamentary Commissioners, March 29 to June 28, 1652.

6. William Stone restored by Parliamentary Commissioners and or-
dered to issue writs in the name of the "Keepers of the Liberties
of England." Deposed by the Commissioners July, 1654, because
he ordered writs to run in the Proprietary's name.

7. Commissioners named by the Parliamentary Commissioners on
July 22, 1654, with subsequent additions to fill vacancies made
by the Provincial Court. The original appointees were: Capt.
Wm. Fuller, Richard Preston, Wm. Durand, Edward Lloyd,
John Smith, Leonard Strong, John Lawson, John Hatch, Richard

*Compiled by Dr. Bernard C. Steiner, of the Enoch Pratt Free Library.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1903
Volume 115, Page 113   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives