clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Proceedings and Debates of the 1850 Constitutional Convention
Volume 101, Page 544   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


fined by indisposition, but would have been present had he not
consented to have paired off with him.

The Convention then resumed the consideration of the order of
the day, being the substitute offered by Mr. Thomas, for the report
of the committee, cleating a Board of Public Works, and which
substitute has been accepted by the Convention.

The question pending before the Convention on yesterday, being
on the amendment offered by Mr. Schiey, to the amendment
offered by Mr. Howard, to insert after the word "Canal," the words
"on Banking."

Mr. Schley, (with the consent of the Convention,) withdrew
said amendment.
The question then recurred upon the amendment offered by Mr.

After debate thereon,

At a quarter past 3 o'clock, P. M.,

Mr. Dorsey, moved the Convention adjourn,
Determined in the negative.

After further debate,

At twenty-five minutes past 3 o'clock, P. M.

Mr. Crisfield, moved the Convention adjourn;

Mr. John Newcomer, moved the question be taken by yeas and
nays, and being ordered appeared as follows
AFFIRMATIVE—Messrs. Morgan, Hopeweli, Ricaud, Lee,
Chambers, of Kent, Mitchell, Donaldson, Dorsey, Randall Kent,
Bond, Howard, Welch, John Dennis, James U. Dennis, Crisfield,
Dashiell, Hicks, Eccleston, Chambers, of Cecil, Miller, Sprigg,
McCubbin, Bowling, George, Dirickson, McMaster, Hearn, Jacobs,
Shriver, Biser, McHenry, Magraw, Nelson, Thawley, Sherwood,
of Balt, city, Ware, Neill, Davis, Brewer, Waters, Anderson and
NEGATIVE—Messrs. Chapman, Pres't, Blakistone, Brent, of
Charles, Buchanan, Ridgely, Lloyd, Dickinson, Goldsborough,
McCullough, Bowie, Tuck, Spencer, Thomas, Gaither, Annan,
Stewart, of Caroline, Hardcastle, Gwinn, Stewart, of Balt. city,
city, Schley, Fiery, John Newcomer, Harbine, Michael Newcomer,
Weber, Slicer, Smith, Parke, Shower, Cockey and Brown—31.
So the Convention agreed to adjourn.
Mr. McHenry, (with the unanimous consent of the Convention,)
gave notice that at the ptoper time, he should offer the following
as a substitute for the report and amendment, and desired it to be
entered upon the record.
"Sec. 1. The Governor, Comptroller and Treasurer, shall con
stitute the commissioners of the Public Works and property for this
State. The Governor shall be ex-officio President of, and the
Secretary of State clerk to this Board.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Proceedings and Debates of the 1850 Constitutional Convention
Volume 101, Page 544   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives