The Chief Administrative Officer administers and supervises the County's main fifteen divisions of government: Animal Control; Business Development and Retention; Citizens Services; Community Development; Emergency Management; Finance; Fire and Rescue Services; Health Services; Human Resources; Interagency Information Technologies; Management Services; Parks and Recreation; Public Works; Transit Services; and Utilities and Solid Waste Management.

This position originated as the County Manager appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. With the adoption of Charter government, duties of the County Manager were reorganized under the Chief Administrative Officer, who has been appointed by the County Executive with Council Council consent since December 2014 (County Charter, Art. 4, sec. 410).

Managing fiscal operations for the County government, the Finance Division serves as the primary procurement agency. The Division reports County finances to the County Executive, and the public. The Division also implements and monitors fiscal policies of County government. Units within the Division prepare the County's annual budget, manage the County employee payroll, and collect and disburse County and State tax revenue (County Code, secs. 1-8-1 through 1-8-421; 2-7-1 through 2-7-201).

The Director of Finance is appointed bu the County Executive with County Council consent (County Charter, Art. 5, sec. 501).

The Finance Division oversees five units: Accounting, Budget, Procurement and Contracting, Risk Management, and Treasury.

For County government, the Human Resources Division reviews and supervises hiring practices, sets wages and salaries, administers payroll processing, and manages employee and retiree benefits. The Division also offers employee counseling and assistance, and is responsible for affirmative action matters (County Code, secs. 1-2-121 through 1-2-127).

Assisting the Division are the Commission on Disabilities, and the Retirement Plan Committee.

Functions of the Interagency Information Technologies Division began in April 1975, when duties were performed by the Interagency Data Processing Authority, an independent agency overseen by a committee appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Renamed as the Interagency Information Systems Authority in June 1998, the Authority reformed as the Interagency Information Technologies Division in November 1998. It became a county government agency under the County Manager in 2001, and since 2014 under the Chief Administrative Officer.

The Interagency Information Technologies Division oversees the management of County technology resources including data, telecommunications, video broadcasting and GIS. The Division provides County government with communication and computer networks and hardware, software applications, and data management services. To improve access to information and services, the Division partners with local, federal and State agencies within the County.

Three departments comprise the Division: Infrastructure; Services Management (including County Government TV); and Software Applications (including Geographic Information Systems).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright November 03, 2017 Maryland State Archives