Chair: Charlotte L. Davis, Executive Director, Rural Maryland Council

Appointed by Governor: Theresa C. Bethune; Jonathan D. Favorite; Brian R. Roche; Andrew (Drew) Van Dopp; four vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: Adelaide C. Eckardt; George C. Edwards; Wayne Norman; Stephen M. Waugh.

Appointed by House Speaker: Sally Y. Jameson; Carol L. Krimm; Mary Ann Lisanti; John F. (Johnny) Mautz IV.

Appointed by Chair, Public Service Commission: Juan C. Alvarado

Appointed by Task Force Chair: not yet appointed

Representing Mid-Shore Regional Council: W. Scott Warner

Representing Tri-County Council for Lower Eastern Shore: Michael P. Pennington

Representing Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland: John F. Hartline

Representing Tri-County Council for Western Maryland: Guy J. Winterberg

Representing Upper Shore Regional Council: Jack N. Wilson, Jr.

Ex officio: Steven Pennington, designee of Secretary of Commerce; Michael G. Leahy, Acting Secretary of Information Technology.

Staff: Andrea (Andi) Morony

c/o Department of Information Technology
100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032
(410) 697-9456
e-mail: andi.morony1@maryland.gov

Report to Governor & General Assembly due Nov. 30, 2017 (Chapter 621, Acts of 2017).

In June 2017, the Task Force on Rural Internet, Broadband, Wireless, and Cellular Service formed (Chapter 621, Acts of 2017).

For the counties of Western, Southern and Eastern Shore Maryland, as well as Carroll, Frederick and Harford counties, the Task Force is to explore ways they can work together to get federal assistance for improving rural internet, broadband, wireless and cellular service. Current connectivity is to be assessed, particularly for users located at the end of connectivity. Gaps and redundancies in current internet, broadband, wireless, cellular, and landline service connectivity will be evaluated by the Task Force. Also to be evaluated are any federal funds for which application was made previously in response to an earlier task force.

Authorization for the Task Force ends May 31, 2018.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 15, 2017 Maryland State Archives