Elizabeth A. Kelley, Chair (chosen by State Department of Education)

Appointed by Senate President: Bill Ferguson

Appointed by House Speaker: Eric D. Ebersole

Appointed by State Department of Education: Crystal M. Barksdale; Elise M. Burgess; Michele A. Dean; Flora L. Gee; Jacqueline N. Grant; Kelly M. Hall; Toby Harkleroad; Stacy Henson, Ed.D.; Steven R. Hicks; Tracy M. Jost; Karen J. Karten; Rachel B. London, Esq.; Clinton K. Macsherry; Christina L. Peusch; Simeon Russell; Shari Sierra; Ginny Simoneau; Sharon L. Vance; Nancy M. Vorobey; Judith C. Walker; Nykia R. Washington; Becky Yackley.

Staff: Nancy M. Vorobey

c/o Division of Early Childhood Development, State Department of Education
Nancy S. Grasmick State Education Building, 10th floor
200 West Baltimore St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2595
(410) 767-0234

In April 2017, the Work Group to Study the Implementation of Universal Access to Prekindergarten for Four-Year-Olds was created (Chapters 25 & 779, Acts of 2017).

The Work Group first was to estimate how many eligible four-year-olds currently are served by public prekindergarten programs. Then, the Work Group recommended an implementation plan to make quality, full-day prekindergarten available to all four-year-old children in Maryland.

Elements addressed in the prekindergarten plan may include both public and private providers; a family contribution, based on a sliding income scale; recommendations on how to meet staffing needs; and an assessment of the current availability of quality providers and credentialled staff. The plan also may consider how expansion affects available school space; the impact by jurisdiction of universal prekindergarten; the possibilities for local partnerships with private providers or Head Start centers; and options for merging various funding opportunities. In addition, the plan should incorporate findings from the report prepared for the State Department of Education in 2015 (revised 2016): A Comprehensive Analysis of Prekindergarten in Maryland, required by Chapter 2, Acts of 2014.

In September 2017, the Work Group submitted its report to the Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education.

Authorization for the Work Group ends April 5, 2018.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 08, 2018 Maryland State Archives