Brian J. Feldman, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker)
Ariana B. Kelly, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker)

[photo, Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President: Brian J. Feldman

Appointed by House Speaker: Ariana B. Kelly

Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: Cindy Carter; Sarah H. Fink; Jeffrey Hayes; Clinton Macsherry; Ruth Martin; Cleo M. Stamatos; Edward Steinberg; DeLinda H. Washington; Caryn C. M. Aslan York.

Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, December 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Bernadette T. Benik, designee of Comptroller of Maryland; Sarah F. Dufresne, designee of State Treasurer; Matthew S. Helminiak, Commissioner of Labor & Industry; Judith Vaughan-Prather, Executive Director, Maryland Commission for Women.

Staff: Laura H. Atas; Heather N. Ruby; David A. Smulski.

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350, (410) 946-5510
e-mail: laura.atas@mlis.state.md.us

Report to General Assembly due Dec. 1, 2017 (Chapter 678, Acts of 2016).

In June 2016, the Task Force to Study Family and Medical Leave Insurance was created (Chapter 678, Acts of 2016).

First, the Task Force is to study existing family and medical leave insurance programs in other states and the District of Columbia; review the 2016 studies on family and medical leave implementation done by Minnesota, Connecticut, and Montgomery County, Maryland; and review the final report of the Task Force to Study Temporary Disability Insurance Programs and the Process for Assisting Individuals with Disabilities at Local Departments of Social Services.

Next, public testimony will be heard by the Task Force, and then the Task Force will make recommendations for development of a State social insurance program to provide short-term benefits to eligible employees who lose wages due to nonwork-related illness or injury; pregnancy or childbirth; caregiving for seriously ill family member; and other specified causes. Also, the Task Force will recommend a design for such an insurance pool, including tax rates and benefits.

The Task Force consists of fifteen members. One is appointed by the Senate President, one by the House Speaker, and nine are appointed jointly by the President and Speaker, who also jointly select the co-chairs. Four members serve ex officio.

Authorization for the Task Force ends June 30, 2018.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 12, 2017 Maryland State Archives