[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Dept. of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3255

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Chair: Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment

Appointed by Governor: Lori Arguelles; Sue Briggum; Stuart A. Clarke; C. Richard D'Amato; Charles E. Fry; Lynn Heller; Bradley M. Karbowsky; Peter F. Murphy; Amy Owsley; John Quinn; Kelly Russell; Michael W. Tidwell; Peter Zadoretzky. Terms expire 2016.

Appointed by Senate President: Paul G. Pinsky

Appointed by House Speaker: Dana M. Stein

Ex officio: Nancy K. Kopp, State Treasurer; Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary of Agriculture; C. Gail Bassette, Secretary of General Services; Mark J. Belton, Secretary of Natural Resources; David R. Craig, Secretary of Planning; Pete K. Rahn, Secretary of Transportation; Jack R. Smith, Ph.D., Interim State Superintendent of Schools; A. Leigh Williams, Esq., Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Donald F. Boesch, Ph.D., President, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science.

Staff: George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr.

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Nov. 15.

In April 2007, the Climate Change Commission was established by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2007.07). In November 2014, its mission and membership were expanded (Executive Order 01.01.2014.14).

To address the causes and ramifications of climate change in Maryland, the Commission is to develop a Plan of Action with benchmarks and timetables for its implementation. For the Governor and the General Assembly, the Commission also provides advice and expertise on issues relating to climate change.

Effective June 1, 2016, the Climate Change Commission will be established by statute in the Department of the Environment (Chapter 429, Acts of 2015).

The Commission is assisted by the Adaptation and Response Working Group, the Greenhouse Gas and Carbon Mitigation Working Group, and the Scientific and Technical Working Group.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives