[photo, Wendi W. Peters, Maryland Secretary of Planning] WENDI WAGNER PETERS, Acting Secretary of Planning

Acting Secretary of Planning since July 6, 2016. Deputy Secretary of Planning, March 12, 2015 to July 6, 2016.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2016-17; Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2016-17; BayStat Subcabinet, 2016-17. Vice-Chair, Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2016-17. Chair, Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2016-17; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2016-17; Governor's Commission on Maryland Military Monuments, 2016-17. Board of Trustees, Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2016-17. Member, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2016-17; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2016-17; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2016-17; Commission on Climate Change, 2016-17; Coast Smart Council, 2016-17; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2016-17; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2016-17; Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2016-17; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2016-17; Interagency Food Desert Advisory Committee, 2016-17; Maryland Green Building Council, 2016-17; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2016-17; Advisory Committee for the Jefferson Patterson Historical Park and Museum, 2016-17; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2016-17; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2016-17; Council on Open Data, 2016-17; Patuxent River Commission, 2016-17; Principals' Staff Committee for Chesapeake Executive Council, 2016-17; Rural Legacy Board, 2016-17; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2016-17; Interagency Committee on School Construction, 2016-17; State Center Executive Committee, 2016-17; State Highway Access Valuation Board, 2016-17; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2016-17; Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2016-17; Project Green Classrooms Initiative, 2017-; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee on Small, Minority, and Women Business Affairs, 2017-.

Chair, Recycling and Sanitation Commission, Mount Airy, 1990-96. Board of Zoning Appeals, Mount Airy, 1997. Member, Planning Commission, Mount Airy, 1998-2004 (vice-chair, 2000-04). Member, Town Council, Mount Airy, 2004-12.

Advisory Committee to Community Legacy Board, 2006-07.

Born in Mount Airy, Maryland. Attended South Carroll High School, Sykesville, Maryland; Villa Julie College, A.A. (paralegal studies), 1983; Loyola University Maryland, B.A. (political science), 1990. Paralegal, Ober, Kaler, Grimes & Shriver, 1986-2015. Member, Maryland Municipal League (chair, communications committee, 2007-08). Member, Mount Airy Main Street Association; Mount Airy Historical Society. Fellow, Academy for Excellence in Local Government, University of Maryland. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2010, 2012. Extraordinary Achievement Award, Maryland Recycling Network, 2011. Inductee, Mount Airy Hall of Fame, 2011. Married; one son.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 31, 2017 Maryland State Archives