Thomas Kennedy Award

Awarded to a former member of the House of Delegates
for his or her personal courage and dedication to the
principles of liberty and freedom

Louis L. Goldstein, 1995
Lucille Maurer, 1996
Charles McC. Mathias, 1997
Carlton R. Sickles, 1998
J. Glenn Beall, Jr., 1999
Helen L. Koss, 2000
Donald B. Robertson, 2001
Marvin Mandel, 2002
 Tyras S. Athey, 2003
Casper R. Taylor, Jr., 2004
Paul S. Sarbanes, 2005
James Clark, Jr., 2006
John Hanson Briscoe, 2007
Benjamin L. Cardin, 2008
Harry R. Hughes, 2009
Lorraine M. Sheehan, 2010
Elijah E. Cummings, 2011
George C. Edwards, 2012
Jean B. Cryor and Howard P. Rawlings, 2013
Hattie N. Harrison, 2014
William J. Frank, 2015
Elizabeth Smith-Anderson, 2016
A. Wade Kach, 2017
Melvin L. Stukes, 2018

Speaker's Medallion

Presented to a Maryland citizen who has made
outstanding contributions to the state

Dr. William C. Richardson, 1995
Judges Robert C. Murphy & Robert F. Sweeney, 1996
Walter Sondheim, Jr., 1997
Bishop L. Robinson, 1998
Dr. Nancy Grasmick, 1999
Parren J. Mitchell, 2000
H. Furlong Baldwin and Susan McCahan, 2001
William Donald Schaefer, 2002
Dr. Morton I. Rapoport, 2003
Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski III, 2004
Lieut. General (Ret.) James F. Fretterd, 2005
Edward E. Cornwell III, M.D. and Thomas M. Scalea, M.D., 2006
Dr. William E. Kirwan, 2007
Sister Helen Amos, 2008
William C. Baker, 2009
Helen Delich Bentley, 2010
Edward D. Miller, MD and Ronald R. Peterson, 2011
Kevin A. Plank, 2012
John M. Colmers, 2013
Rebecca J. Landa, Ph.D., Polly Winde Surhoff and Edward C. Papenfuse, Ph.D., 2014
Darryll J. Pines, Ph.D., 2015
E. Albert Reese, M.D. and Robert A. Chrencik, 2016
Norman R. Augustine, 2017
Barbara Mikulski, 2018

The Casper R. Taylor, Jr. Founder's Award

Presented to a sitting member of the House of Delegates for steadfast commitment
to public service and the integrity of the House of Delegates

John S. Arnick, 2003
Pauline H. Menes, 2004
Hattie N. Harrison, 2005
A. Wade Kach, 2006
Ruth M. Kirk, 2007
not awarded, 2008
Mary Ann Love, 2009
Carolyn J. Krysiak, 2010
Rudolph C. Cane, 2011
Brian K. McHale, 2012
Veronica L. Turner
, 2013
Kathleen M. Dumais, 2014
Tawanna P. Gaines, 2015
Samuel I. Rosenberg, 2016
Susan L. M. Aumann and Sheila E. Hixson, 2017
Nicholaus R. Kipke and Frank S. Turner, 2018

Speaker's MedallionSpeaker's Medallion

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 19, 2018 Maryland State Archives