Society of Senates Past

[Photograph of State Senator]

Republican, District 34, Harford County

Member of Senate, 1995-99. Member, Joint Committee to Study Mandates on Local Government, 1995-97; Economic and Environmental Affairs Committee, 1995-99 (education subcommittee; health subcommittee); Executive Nominations Committee, 1995-99; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1995-99; Joint Committee on Protocol. Chair, Harford County Delegation, 1998-99.

Member, House of Delegates, 1991-94. Member, Constitutional and Administrative Law Committee, 1991-92; Ways and Means Committee, 1992-93 (education subcommittee); Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1994. Vice-Chair, Harford County Delegation, 1993.

Member, City Council, Havre de Grace, 1979-85. Mayor of Havre de Grace, 1985-89.

Member, Task Force to Review the State's Election Law, 1995; Task Force on Maryland's Dairy Industry, 1995-97; Maryland Tourism Development Board, 1995-98; Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission, 1995-99; Commission to Revise the Election Code, 1996-97; Maryland Commission for Celebration 2000, 1997-99.

Born in Havre de Grace, Maryland, June 12, 1949. Attended Havre de Grace High School; Towson State College, B.S., 1971; Morgan State University, M.A., 1983. Assistant Principal, Aberdeen Middle School. Life member, Susquehanna Museum; Friends of Concord Point Lighthouse; Havre de Grace Decoy Museum; Havre de Grace Maritime Museum. Member, Sons of the American Legion, Post 47; Boy Scouts of America Troop 967 (past district chair, Harford County). Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 1992. Virginia Scotten Award, Harford County Republican Party, 1987. Married; three children.

Compiled from the biographical files of the Maryland Manual, ©Maryland State Archives, February 11, 1999

back buttonhomepage buttonforward button