Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Treasurers, 1694-1775

black line


See also Treasurers 1775-present


History of the Office of the Treasurer

Treasurers, 1694-1775

Treasurers of the Eastern Shore

1694-1695  Col. William Whittington Somerset County
1695-1713/14  Maj. Thomas Smithson Talbot County
1714-1727  Robert Ungle Talbot County
1727-1747  Col. James Hollyday Queen Anne's County
1747-1766  Col. Edward Lloyd Talbot County
1766 John LeedsTalbot County
1766-1769 Bedingfield HandsKent County
1769-1775  William Hemsley, Jr. Queen Anne's County

Treasurers of the Western Shore

1694-1695  Capt. Thomas Tasker Calvert County
1695-1698  Robert Mason St. Mary's County
1699-1700  Robert Mason St. Mary's County
1700-1736  Col. Samuel Young Anne Arundel County
1736-1772  Col. Charles Hammond Anne Arundel County
1772-1775  Col. William Fitzhugh Calvert County

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright February 28, 2013 Maryland State Archives