Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Convention to Ratify the Federal Constitution, April 21-29, 1788

Arthur O'Brien, Challenge to Consensus: Social, Political and Economic Implications of Maryland Sectionalism, 1776-1789, Wisconsin, Ph.D., 1979.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990, p. 344.
Bernard C. Steiner, "Maryland's Adoption," The American Historical Review, Vol. V, p. 42.

Members and Opponents of the Convention of Maryland Which Ratified the Federal Constitution

George Plater, President
William Harwood, Secretary
Members County/City Opponents
Annapolis City
Nicholas Carroll (1750/51-1812)
Alexander Contee Hanson (1749-1806)
Anne Arundel County
Jeremiah Townley Chase (1748-1828)
Samuel Chase (1741-1811)
Benjamin Harrison (ca. 1754-1825)
John Francis Mercer (1759-1821)
  Charles Carroll of Carrollton
James Carroll
Brice Worthington
John Hall
Baltimore County
Edward Cockey (1731-ca. 1795)
Nathan Cromwell (1731-1813)
Charles Ridgely (1733-1790)
Charles Ridgely of William (?-1810)
  Henry D. Gough
James Gittings
John E. Howard
John Craddock
Baltimore Town
John Coulter (1751-1823)
James McHenry (ca. 1752-1816)
  Samuel Sterrett
David M'Mechan
Calvert County
John Chesley, Jr. (?-1805)
Charles Grahame
Walter Smith (1747-1804)
Joseph Wilkinson (1753-1820)
Caroline County
Matthew Driver (1740-1798)
Peter Edmondson (ca. 1753-1819)
Joseph Richardson (?-1814)
William Richardson (1735-1825)
Cecil County
Samuel Evans (?-1798)
Joseph Gilpin (ca. 1727-1790)
James Gordon Heron (1749-1809)
Henry Hollingsworth (1737-1803)
Charles County
Gustavus Richard Brown (1747-1804)
John Parnham (ca. 1748-1813)
Michael Jenifer Stone (1747-1812)
Zephaniah Turner (1737-1794)
Dorchester County
Robert Goldsborough, Sr. (1733-1788) (Did not serve)
Nicholas Hammond (1758-1830)
James Shaw (ca. 1747-ca. 1795)
Daniel Sulivane (1745/46-1799)
Frederick County
Abraham Faw (1747-1828)
Thomas Johnson (1732-1819)
Thomas Sim Lee (1745-1819)
Richard Potts (1753-1808)
Harford County
John Love (ca. 1730-1793)
Luther Martin (1748-1826)
William Paca (1740-1799)
William Pinkney (1764-1822)
  R. Rumsey
Aquila Hall
John Archer
B.E. Hall
Kent County
William Granger (ca. 1749-1791)
Isaac Perkins (1743-1791)
William Tilghman (1756-1827)
Donaldson Yeates (1729/30-1796)
Montgomery County
Thomas Cramphin, Jr. (ca. 1740-ca. 1831)
William Deakins, Jr. (ca. 1744-1798)
Benjamin Edwards (1753-1826)
Richard Thomas (ca. 1728-1806)
  Edward Burgess
Lawrence O'Neal
William Holmes
Henry Griffith
Prince George's County
Fielder Bowie (ca. 1745-1794)
George Digges (ca. 1742-1792)
Benjamin Hall, of Francis (?-1803)
Osborn Sprigg (ca. 1741-1815)
Queen Anne's County
William Hemsley (1736/37-1812)
James Hollyday (1758-1807)
John Seney (ca. 1733-1795)
James Tilghman III (1743-1809)
St. Mary's County
Richard Barnes (?-1804)
Charles Chilton (?-1824)
George Plater (1735-1792)
Nicholas Lewis Sewell (ca. 1721-1800)
Somerset County
George Gale (1756-1815)
John Gale (1753-1813)
John Stewart (?-ca. 1794)
Henry Waggaman (1753-1809)
Talbot County
Jeremiah Banning (1733-1798)
Robert Goldsborough IV (1740-1798)
Edward Lloyd (1744-1796)
John Stevens (ca. 1735-1794)
Washington County
Moses Rawlings (1745-1809)
Henry Shryock (ca. 1736-1814)
Thomas Sprigg (ca. 1747-1809)
John Stull (1733-1791)
  Jacob Cellers
Jacob Funk
Col. Andrew Bruce
Col. Norman Bruce
Worcester County
Peter Chaille (?-1802)
John Done (ca. 1747-1831)
James Martin (ca. 1738-1810)
William Morris (?-1799)