Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Constitutional Convention, 1967-1968 

Maryland's constitutional provision on apportionment was invalidated by the U.S. Supreme Court in 1964. By executive order on June 16, 1965, Governor J. Millard Tawes created the Constitutional Convention Commission, chaired by H. Vernon Eney, to study the need for constitutional revision. The commission drafted constitutional convention bills, which the legislature enacted (Acts of 1966, ch. 500 and 501). The General Assembly of 1967 passed three additional bills regarding the convention (Acts of 1967, ch. 1, 4, and 5).

Delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1967-1968 were elected by the voters on June 13, 1967. The convention convened in Annapolis on September 12, 1967, and adjourned on January 10, 1968. The proposed constitution was rejected by the voters May 14, 1968, but many of its reforms subsequently were achieved by law or constitutional amendment. 
J. Millard Tawes Honorary President
H. Vernon Eney President
James Clark 1st Vice President
William S. James 2nd Vice President
Robert J. Martineau Secretary
John C. Brooks  Chief of Staff
Ira J. Wagonheim  Chief Clerk
David L. Hattrick Parliamentarian
Richard F. Rothenberg  Sergeant-at-Arms

Allegany County
J. Glenn Beall, Sr. 
C. William Gilchrist 
John H. Mosner 
Harold K. Ritter [1]
Ralph R. Webster [2]
Anne Arundel County - District 6A
Marvin I. Anderson 
Vernon L. Neilson 
Catherine B. Ulrich 
Anne Arundel County - District 6B
William L. Henderson
Robert A. Pascal
Lee J. Sosnowski 
Anne Arundel County - District 6C
Werner H. Fornos
E. Churchill Murray
C. Maurice Weidemeyer 
Baltimore City - District 1
Audrey Ward Cicone 
Edward N. Dabrowski, Jr. 
Joseph L. Johnson 
Chester G. Kosakowski
Edward B. Rybczynski 
Romuald Skip Siewierski 
Baltimore City - District 2
Elsbeth Levy Bothe
Richard F. Cleveland
R. Samuel Jett 
Addie J. Key 
Henry R. Lord 
Marvin I. Singer 
James E. Soul 
Lloyd Taylor 
Baltimore City - District 3
G. Maxwell Armor, Jr. 
C. Meredith Boyce
John Carroll Byrnes
Francis X. Gallagher
Charney L. Harris
Anne D. Hopkins 
Herbert R. O'Conor, Jr. [3]
Frank C. Robey, Jr.
Agnes White Smith [4]
Baltimore City - District 4
Murray Abramson
Rubye H. Gill 
John R. Hargrove
Earl Koger, Sr.
David T. Mason
Juanita Jackson Mitchell
John W. White, Jr. 
Baltimore City - District 5
E. Clinton Bamberger, Jr. 
Harry Bard
Roy Borom 
Leah S. Freedlander
M. Peter Moser
Joseph Sherbow
Charles L. Wagandt 
Baltimore City - District 6
Albert F. Baumann
Frank J. Blair
George W. Della
LeRoy Frederick
Joseph P. Murphy
Vincent J.Vecera 
Charles H. Wheatley
Baltimore County - District 1
Walter G. Finch
Richard W. Kiefer
Thomas G. Pullen, Jr.
Baltimore County - District 2
Shoshana S. Cardin
Howard J. Needle
Stanley Sollins 
Baltimore County - District 3
Richard W. Case 
H. Vernon Eney
Clinton I. Winslow 
Baltimore County - District 4
Henry B. Boyles
J. Hardin Marion 
Nicholas M. Schloeder 
Baltimore County - District 5
Quintin T. Eckenrode 
Donald P. Hutchinson
Susan M. Kahl 
William H. Peters, Jr. 
Baltimore County - District 6
Gerard V. Caldwell 
Perry E. Darby
William Rush
Baltimore County - District 7
Allen Eugene Buzzell 
John F. Leitzel 
Bruce K. Price 
Calvert County
David A. Harkness 
Caroline County
Marvin H. Smith
Carroll County
Mary B. Bryson 
William B. Dulany
Cecil County
E. Ralph Hostetter 
Edward D. E. Rollins, Jr. 
Charles County
Samuel C. Linton, Jr.
F. DeSales Mudd 
Dorchester County
Frederick C. Malkus, Jr.
Frederick County
Samuel W. Barrick
Benjamin B. Rosenstock
Edward D. Storm
Garrett County
William W. Grant
Harford County
Robert J. Carson
John W. Hardwicke
William S. James
Charles W. Willis
Howard County
James Clark, Jr.
C. Ferdinand Sybert
Kent County
Elroy G. Boyer
Montgomery County - District 1
James V. Bennett 
Franklin L. Burdette 
Edward J. Clarke 
Royce Hanson 
Gerald D. Morgan 
J. Hodge Smith 
Alfred L. Scanlan 
Montgomery County - District 2
J. Douglas Bradshaw 
James P. Gleason 
Helen L. Koss 
Lucille Maurer 
Beatrice Miller 
John W. Neumann 
Howard R. Penniman 
Montgomery County - District 3
Herbert L. Chabot 
David A. MacDonald 
Prince George's County - District 1
Henry Contee Bowie Clagett 
William W. Gullett 
Margaret B. Mentzer 
Prince George's County - District 2
Raymond G. Boileau 
Charles A. Dukes, Jr. 
Ralph W. Powers 
Melvin L. Schneider 
Carlton R. Sickles
W. Waverly Webb 
Ronald Andrew Willoner 
Prince George's County - District 3
George E. Burgess 
Arthur W. Kirkland 
Dorothy Scott Murray 
Kathleen Lynch Robie 
Howard L. Stern 
Harry E. Taylor, Jr. 
Queen Anne's County
Carter M. Hickman
St. Mary's County
Philip H. Dorsey 
J. Frank Raley, Jr.
Somerset County
J. Millard Tawes
Talbot County
Edward T. Miller 
Wicomico County
E. Dale Adkins, Jr. 
Hamilton P. Fox 
Washington County
Catherine L. Beachley 
E. Stuart Bushong 
Vincent R. Groh 
Richard Grumbacher 
Worcester County
Godfrey Child 
[1] Elected by the convention vice Ralph R. Webster, Sept. 29, 1967.
[2] Resigned Sept. 29, 1967.
[3] Resigned Sept. 29, 1967
[4] Elected by the convention vice Herbert R. O'Conor, Jr., Sept. 29, 1967

Source: Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., The Archives of Maryland, new series, An Historical List of Public Officials of Maryland, Vol. I. (Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990).

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright September 19, 2007 Maryland State Archives