Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Constitutional Convention, 1867

In the election of 1866, Unionists lost their political power in Maryland. The Democrats who replaced them included many who had been sympathetic to the Confederate cause. They sought to rewrite what they considered to be a Unionist document. When Governor Thomas Swann addressed the General Assembly in 1867, he called for enactment of a constitutional convention bill. The legislature passed the bill, and the voters expressed their approval of a convention (Acts of 1867, ch. 327).

Delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1867 were chosen by the electorate on April 10, 1867. The convention convened in Annapolis on May 8, 1867, and adjourned on August 17, 1867. The fourth state constitution, recommended by the convention, was ratified by the voters September 18, 1867.
Richard B. Carmichael President
Milton Y. Kidd Secretary
Allegany County
Jacob Hoblitzell
Thomas J. McKaig
Thomas Perry
J. Philip Roman
Alfred Spates
William Walsh
Anne Arundel County
Luther Giddings
Thomas I. Hall
James R. Howison
E. G. Kilbourn
Baltimore City - District 1
John H. Barnes
Edward F. Flaherty
Isaac S. George
James A. Henderson
Lindsey H. Rennolds
Joshua Vansant
Ezra Whitman
Baltimore City - District 2
George William Brown
Bernard Carter
George W. Dobbin 
Henry F. Garey
George M. Gill
J. Hall Pleasants
Albert Ritchie
Baltimore City - District 3
James R. Brewer
I. M. Denson
John Ferry
John Franck
Joseph P. Merryman
J. Montgomery Peters
Walter S. Wilkinson
Baltimore County
Robert C. Barry
Ephraim Bell
Charles A. Buchanan
Anthony Kennedy
Charles H. Nicolai
Samuel W. Starr
John Wethered
Calvert County
Dr. John F. Ireland
Charles S. Parran
John Parran
Caroline County
R. E. Hardcastle
Tilghman H. Hubbard
Dr. Charles E. Tarr
W. H. Watkins
Carroll County
Benjamin W. Bennett 
Thomas F. Cover
Sterling Galt
William N. Hayden
John K. Longwell
George W. Manro
Cecil County
Benjamin B. Chambers
Eli Cosgrove
James Black Groome
George R. Howard
James O. McCormick
Charles County
Vivian Brent
Walter Mitchell
John T. Stoddert
Dorchester County
George E. Austin
William T. Goldsborough
Dr. Levin Hodson
James Wallace
Frederick County
Harry W. Dorsey
Outerbridge Horsey
Dewitt C. Johnson
William P. Maulsby
William S. McPherson
Frederick J. Nelson
John B. Thomas
Harford County
Henry W. Archer
Dr. John Evans
Henry D. Farnandis
Evans S. Rogers 
Henry A. Silver
Howard County
Henry O. Devries
James Mackubin
William M. Merrick
James Morris
Kent County
William Janvier
C. H. B. Massey
Richard W. Ringgold
Joseph A. Wickes
Montgomery County
Nicholas Brewer 
Washington Duvall
Samuel Riggs, of R.
Greenbury M. Watkins
Prince George's County
John B. Brooke
Elbert G. Emack
John F. Lee
Fendall Marbury
Queen Anne's County
Stephen J. Bradley
Richard B. Carmichael
Washington Finley
Thomas James Keating 
Somerset County
James L. Horsey
Isaac Dashiell Jones
Henry Page
Thomas F. J. Rider
Purnell Toadvine
St. Mary's County
John F. Dent
Robert Ford
Baker A. Jamison
Talbot County
Henry E. Bateman
William Goldsborough
Ormond Hammond
Richard C. Hollyday 
Washington County
Richard H. Alvey
S. S. Cunningham
William Motter
Joseph Murray
George W. Pole
Andrew K. Syester 
Worcester County
George W. Covington
Littleton P. Franklin
Samuel S. McMaster
Thomas P. Parker
J. Hopkins Tarr
Source: Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., The Archives of Maryland, new series, An Historical List of Public Officials of Maryland, Vol. I. (Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990).

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright October 10, 2014 Maryland State Archives