Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Constitutional Convention, 1864

During the Civil War, President Abraham Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation of 1863 freed slaves in Confederate states but not in the Union state of Maryland. Indeed, Maryland's Constitution of 1851 had forbidden passage of "any law abolishing the relation of master or slave, as it now exists in this State" (Art. 3, sec. 43). To end slavery, Maryland had to write a new constitution.

Governor Augustus W. Bradford, in his annual message of 1864 to the General Assembly, sought passage of a constitutional convention bill. The predominently Unionist legislature promptly complied, and the electorate approved the call for a convention (Acts of 1864, ch. 5).

Delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1864 were elected by the voters on April 6, 1864. The convention convened in Annapolis on April 27, 1864, and adjourned on September 6, 1864. A state-wide referendum was held October 12 and 13, 1864, with  special provisions were made to allow soldiers in the field to vote, and Governor Bradford certified the election totals on October 29. The third state constitution, which abolished slavery in Maryland, went into effect November 1, 1864.
Henry Hollyday Goldsborough President
William R. Cole Secretary


Allegany County
Albert C. Greene 
Hopewell Hebb
Jasper Robinette
George A. Thruston
Jacob Wickard 
Anne Arundel County
William B. Bond 
Sprigg Harwood
Dr. Eli J. Henkle
Oliver Miller
Baltimore City
Edwin A. Abbott 
Joseph H. Audoun 
John Barron 
William Brooks 
Joseph M. Cushing 
William Daniel 
Samuel T. Hatch
Baltus H. Kennard 
Archibald Stirling, Jr. 
Henry Stockbridge 
John L. Thomas, Jr. 
Baltimore County
John S. Berry 
William H. Hoffman 
David King 
Silas Larsh 
William H. Mace 
Edwin L. Parker 
James L. Ridgely 
Calvert County
James T. Briscoe
Charles S. Parran
Dr. John Turner 
Caroline County
James D. Carter 
Twiford S. Noble 
Robert W. Todd 
Carroll County
Jonas Ecker 
John E. Smith 
Dr. John Swope 
William S. Wooden 
Cecil County
George Earle
Thomas P. Jones 
Joseph B. Pugh 
David Scott 
Charles County
Peregrine Davis 
Richard H. Edelen 
John W. Mitchell 
Dorchester County
Thomas J. Dail 
Thomas J. Hodson 
Alward Johnson 
Dr. Washington A. Smith 
Frederick County
Andrew Annan 
Henry Baker 
B. A. Cunningham 
Samuel Keefer
David J. Markey 
Frederick Schley 
Peter G. Schlosser 
Harford County
William Galloway 
John A. Hopper 
George M. McComas 
Thomas Russell 
Howard County
Dr. Joel Hopkins 
George W. Sands 
James Sykes 
Kent County
David C. Blackiston 
Ezekiel Forman Chambers
George S. Hollyday 
Montgomery County
Edmund P. Duvall 
Thomas Lansdale 
George Peter
Prince George's County
Edward W. Belt 
Samuel H. Berry 
Daniel Clarke 
Fendall Marbury
Queen Anne's County
John Brown
John Lee 
Pere Wilmer
Somerset County
Andrew J. Crawford 
James U. Dennis 
William H. Gale 
John C. Horsey 
Isaac Dashiell Jones
St. Mary's County
Chapman Billingsley 
John F. Dent
George W. Morgan 
Talbot County
Henry Hollyday Goldsborough
John W. Mullikin 
James Valliant 
Washington County
Joseph F. Davis 
Henry W. Dellinger
James P. Mayhugh 
Peter Negley 
Lewis B. Nyman 
John R. Sneary 
Worcester County
William H. W. Farrow 
Francis T. Murray 
William T. Purnell 
Thomas B. Smith 
Source: Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., The Archives of Maryland, new series, An Historical List of Public Officials of Maryland, Vol. I. (Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990).

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright October 10, 2014 Maryland State Archives