Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Chancellors, 1777-1851

Source: William L. Marbury.  "The High Court of Chancery and the
Chancellors of Maryland."  In Report of the Tenth Annual Meeting
of the Maryland State Bar Association (1905):  113-155.
See also 1 Bl. 557

Chancellors, 1777-1851

1777-1778   Richard Sprigg
1778-1789   John Rogers
1789-1806   Alexander Contee Hanson
1806-1821   William Kilty
1821-1824   John Johnson, Sr.
1824-1846 Theodorick Bland
1846-1851   John Johnson, Jr.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright August 22, 2012 Maryland State Archives