Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Baltimore City Counselors and Solicitors, 1797--

Source:  Essay by Dan Friedman, former Chief of Litigation, Baltimore City Department of Law entitled Baltimore City Solicitors,  posted November 2003.
(Note:  article is a PDF Document)

Baltimore City Counselors, 1797-1863
1797-1822 currently unknown
1822-1833 John Scott
1834-1839 George Gordon Belt
1840-1841 William Gwynn
1842-1844 William L. Marshall
1844-1846 Hugh Davey Evans
1846-1849 Benjamin C. Presstman
1849-1852 Archer Ropes
1853-1854 Benjamin C. Presstman
1855-1858 Grafton L. Dulany
1859-1860 Archibald Stirling, Jr.
1861 George M. Gill
1862-1863 John Lewis Thomas, Jr.

Baltimore City Counselors, 1864-1897 Baltimore City Solicitors, 1864-1897
1864 John Lewis Thomas, Jr. 1864 currently unknown
1865-1866 William Price 1865-1867 Cornelius Lawrence Ludlow Leary
1867 John Lewis Thomas, Jr.
1868-1869 William H. Norris 1868-1871 Robert D. Morrison
1870-1879 currently unknown 1872-1875 Albert Ritchie
1876-1877 John Van Lear Findlay
1880-1881 James L. McLane 1878-1882 Thomas W. Hall
1882-1883 John Prentiss Poe 1883 I. Parker Veazey
1884-1885 James L. McLane 1884-1889 Bernard Carter
1886-1887 Robert Gilmore
1888-1889 Fetter Schrier Hoblitzel
1890-1892 Albert Ritchie 1890-1892 William A. Hammond
1893-1897 Thomas G. Hayes 1893-1895 William Shepard Bryan, Jr.
1896-1898 Thomas Ireland Elliott

Baltimore City Solicitors, 1898-present
1898-1899 John E. Semmes
1899-1900 Bernard Carter
1900-1903 William Pinkney Whyte
1903 Olin Bryan
1903-1908 William Cabell Bruce
1908-1911 Edgar Allan Poe
1911-1919 Samuel Summers Field
1919-1923 Roland A. Marchant
1923-1926 Phillip B. Perlman
1926-1927 Charles C. Wallace
1927-1931 A. Walter Kraus
1931-1938 R. E. Lee Marshall
1938-1942 Charles G. C. Evans
1942-1943  F. Murray Benson
1943-1947 Simon E. Sobeloff
1947-1958 Thomas N. Biddison
1958-1959 Hugo A. Ricciuti
1959-1961 Harrison Lee Winter
1961-1963 Francis B. Burch
1963-1968 Joseph Allen
1968-1974 George L. Russell, Jr.
1974-1987 Benjamin Brown
1988-1996 Neal Marcellus Janey
1996-2000 Otho M. Thompson
2000-2004 Thurman Wilbert Zollicoffer, Jr.
2004-2007 Ralph S. Tyler
2007-2016 George Nilson
2016-2017 David Ralph (acting solicitor)
2017- Andre M. Davis

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright October 20, 2017 Maryland State Archives