Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Provisional Government of 1774 - 1776

Ninth Convention: August 14, 1776 - November 11, 1776

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided; chair - convention chairman;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman, Chairman of the Convention
Convention Members
William Paca
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Anne Arundel County
Rezin Hammond
Brice T. B. Worthington, r, e
Charles Carroll, barrister, r
Samuel Chase, r, e
John Hall, e
Baltimore Town
John Smith
Jeremiah Townley Chase
Baltimore County
Charles Ridgely
Thomas Cockey Deye
John Stevenson
Peter Shepherd
Calvert County
Benjamin Mackall
Charles Grahame
William Fitzhugh
John Mackall
Caroline County
Nathanial Potter
William Richardson, ds1
Richard Mason
Henry Dickinson
Thomas Johnson, e
Cecil County
Joseph Gilpin
Patrick Ewing
David Smith
Benjamin Brevard
Charles County
John Dent
Thomas Semms
John Parnham
Robert Townshend Hooe
Dorchester County
Robert Goldsborough
James Murray
John Ennalls
Joseph Ennalls
Frederick County - Lower District2
Thomas Sprigg Wooton, ev, e
Jonathan Wilson, ev, e
William Bayley, Jr., ev, e
Elisha Williams, ev, e
Frederick County - Middle District
Adam Fisher
Upton Sheredine
Christopher Edelin
David Shriver
Frederick County - Upper District
Samuel Beall
John Stull
Henry Schnebeley
Samuel Hughes
Harford County
Jacob Bond
Henry Wilson, Jr.
John Love
John Archer
Kent County
Thomas Ringgold, d
William Ringgold
Joseph Earle
Thomas Smyth
Prince George's County2
Walter Bowie, ev, e
Luke Marbury, ev, e
Osborn Sprigg, ev, e
Thomas Sim Lee, ev
Benjamin Hall, e
Queen Anne's County2
Turbett Wright, ev, e
James Kent, ev, e
Solomon Wright, ev, e
William Bruff, ev, e
St. Mary's County
Richard Barnes
Ignatius Fenwick
George Plater
Jeremiah Jordan
Somerset County
Gustavus Scott
George Scott
William Horsey
Henry Lowes
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman, chair
Pollard Edmonson
John Gibson
James Lloyd Chamberlaine
Worcester County3
Peter Chaille, ev, e
Smith Bishop, ev, e
Samuel Handy, ev, e
John Purnell Robins, ev
Josian E. Mitchell, e

1. Richardson's seat was declared vacated on August 17, 1776, upon his acceptance of a colonel's commission in the Flying Camp.
2. According to reports made by the Committee on Elections, the judges appointed by the Eighth Convention to conduct the elections of delegates in the counties of Prince George's, Queen Anne's, and Frederick (Lower District) failed to act. The citizens of these counties appointed new judges, who held the elections and signed the returns. The Ninth Convention declared these elections void since they had not been held by the judges specifically appointed for that purpose, and ordered new elections.
3. A remonstrance from the election judges appointed by the Eighth Convention to hold the election of delegates in Worcester County indicated that the election was held "contrary to the resolves of the last Convention, ascertaining and declaring the qualifications of voters." The Convention declared this election void and ordered a new one.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 23, 2009Maryland State Archives