Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Provisional Government of 1774 - 1776

Sixth Convention: December 7, 1775 - January 18, 17761
Seventh Convention: May 8, 1776 - May 25, 1776
Eighth Convention: June 21, 1776 - July 6, 1776

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided; chair - convention chairman;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman, Chairman of the Convention
Convention Members
Anne Arundel County*
Charles Carroll, barrister
Thomas Johnson
Samuel Chase4
William Paca5
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Baltimore County*
Robert Alexander2
Benjamin Nicholson3
John Moale4
Walter Tolley, Jr.
Jeremiah Townley Chase
Calvert County*
Edward Gantt
Alexander Somerville
Patrick Sim Smith
Benjamin Mackall IV
William Allein
Caroline County*
William Richardson6
Joshua Clarke2
Nathanial Potter
Henry Dickinson
Richard Mason
Cecil County*
Joseph Gilpin
John Veazy, Jr.
John D. Thompson
Nathanial Ramsay2
Patrick Ewing
William Currer, e-7
Charles County*
William Smallwood2
Francis Ware2
Josias Hawkins
Thomas Stone4
Robert Townshend Hooe
William Harrison, e-7
Joseph Hanson Harrison, e-7
Dorchester County
John Ennalls3
James Murray
Henry Hooper
William Ennalls4
Robert Goldsborough6
Frederick County - Lower District*
Henry Griffith
Frederick County - Middle District*
Charles Beatty
Baker Johnson
Frederick County - Upper District*
William Baird
John Stull
George Brent, e-75
Harford County
John Love
Richard Dallam
Aquila Hall
Benjamin Rumsey
Thomas Bond, of Thomas
Kent County*
Richard Buchannan
Peregrine Lethrbury
Thomas Smyth, dcl
Emory Sudler
William Sluby
Thomas Ringgold
Prince George's County*
Joseph Sim4
Josias Beall
Thomas Contee
John Rogers2
Robert Tyler3
Queen Anne's County
Turbett Wright
James Tilghman
Richard Tilghman Earle
James Hollyday
Thomas Wright
St. Mary's County*
Jeremiah Jordan
John Allen Thomas2
Richard Barnes
George Plater6
John Reeder, Jr.
Athanasius Ford, e-7
Somerset County
George Dashiell
Gustavus Scott
Peter Waters
William Adams4
John Adams4
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman, chair, 6-84
Nicholas Thomas
Pollard Edmonson
James Lloyd Chamberlaine
Francis Baker, dns, ds-67
Edward Lloyd
Worcester County*
Peter Chaille
Samuel Handy
Smith Bishop4
John Done
Joseph Dashiell

1. The members of the Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Conventions were elected in September 1775 to serve for a period of one year. Election results survive for only those counties marked with an asterisk; the lists of delegates for the other counties are based on attendance at the conventions.
2. These delegates attended only the Sixth Convention.
3. These delegates attended only the Sixth and Seventh Conventions.
4. These delegates attended only the Sixth and Eighth Conventions.
5. These delegates attended only the Seventh Convention.
6. These delegates attended only the Seventh and Eighth Conventions.
7. Baker was dismissed on December 11, 1775, for a "breach of the continental association" prior to his election.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 24, 2009Maryland State Archives