Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Provisional Government of 1774 - 1776

Fifth Convention: July 26, 1775 - August 14, 17751

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided; chair - convention chairman;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman, Chairman of the Convention
Convention Members
Anne Arundel County
Samuel Chase
Thomas Johnson
John Hall
Ephraim Howard
Charles Carroll, barrister
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Thomas Dorsey
Thomas Tilliard
John Dorsey
William Paca
Rezin Hammond
Brice T. B. Worthington
Matthias Hammond
Baltimore County*
Thomas Cockey Deye, dns
Charles Ridgely, dns
Walter Tolley, Jr.
Charles Ridgely, of John
Charles Ridgely, of William
John Moale
Willam Buchanan
Benjamin Nicholson
John Craddock
Jeremiah Townley Chase
Thomas Harrison
Darby Lux
Walter Tolley, dns
Robert Alexander
James Gittings
Calvert County
Edward Gantt
Samuel Chew
Edward Reynolds
Benjamin Mackall IV
Alexander Somerville
Caroline County
Nathanial Potter
Joshua Clarke
Peter Adams
Richard Mason
William Molleston
Benson Stainton
John Stevens
William Hopper
William Richardson
Henry Dickinson
Cecil County*
John Veazy, Jr.
Joseph Gilpin
William Ward, dns
Stphen Hyland, dns
William Rumsey
Nathanial Ramsay
John D. Thompson
Charles Rumsey
John Cox
Patrick Ewing, dns
Peter Lawson
Williar Currer
Charles County*
George Dent, dns
Samuel Hanson, dns
William Smallwood
Josias Hawkins, dns
Francis Ware, dns
Joseph Hanson Harrison, dns
Thomas Stone
Daniel Jenifer
Robert Townshend Hooe
John Dent
Samuel Love, dns
Thomas Hanson Mitchell, dns
Philip Richard Fendall
Willam Harrison
John Hoskins Stone
Dorchester County
Robert Goldsborough
James Murray
Henry Hooper
Thomas Ennalls
Robert Harrison
Frederick County
Henry Griffith
Charles Beatty
Baker Johnson
Richard Brooke
Jacob Funk
John Hanson, Jr.
Samuel Beall
William Deakins, Jr.
Thomas Sprigg Wooton
Thomas Cramphin, Jr.
Upton Sheredine
Joseph Chapline
Harford County
Richard Dallam
Samuel Durham
Thomas Bond
Samuel Ashmead
Benedict Edward Hall
John Beale Howard
Francis Holland
Benjamin Rumsey
Ignatius Wheeler, Jr.
James MacComas
William Webb
Kent County
William Ringgold
Richard Lloyd
Thomas Smyth
Joseph Earle
Thomas Beddingfield Hands
Thomas Ringgold
Joseph Nicholson, Jr.
Prince George's County*
Richard Brooke
Josias Beall
Robert Tyler
John Rogers
William Bowie
Walter Bowie
George Lee
Thomas Gantt, Jr.
Joshua Beall
Osborn Sprigg
David Craufurd
Joseph Sim
Thomas Contee
Benjamin Hall, of Francis
Luke Marbury, dns
Stphen West
John Contee
Thomas Sim Lee
Queen Anne's County
Turbett Wright
James Tilghman
Thomas Wright
John Wallace
James Hollyday
John Brown
Richard Tilghman Earle
Solomon Wright
St. Mary's County*
John Reeder, Jr.
Richard Barnes
John Allen Thomas
Jeremiah Jordan
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman, chair
James Lloyd Chamberlaine
Nicholas Thomas
Edward Lloyd
William Hindman
Richard Tilghman
James Benson
Francis Baker
Peregrine Tilghman
Somerset County
William Waters
Josiah Polk
George Dashiell
John Steward
John Waters
Gustavus Scott
Worcester County
Samuel Handy
Peter Chaille
Zadock Purnell
William Morris

1. Election results survive for only those counties marked with an asterisk; the lists of delegates for the other counties are based on attendance at the conventions. According to the published proceedings, 141 delegates were present.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 24, 2009Maryland State Archives