Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Provisional Government of 1774 - 1776

First Convention: June 22, 1774 - June 25, 17741

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided; chair - convention chairman;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman, Chairman of the Convention
Convention Members
Anne Arundel County*
Brice T. B. Worthington
Charles Carroll, barrister
John Hall
William Paca
Samuel Chase
Thomas Johnson
Matthias Hammond
Thomas Sprigg, dns
Samuel Chew
John Weems
Thomas Dorsey
Rezin Hammond
John Hood, Jr., dns
Baltimore County*
Charles Ridgely
Thomas Cockey Deye
Walter Tolley, Jr.
Robert Alexander
William Lux
Samuel Purviance, Jr.
George Risteau
Charles Ridgely, of John, dns
John Moale, dns
Andrew Buchanan, dns
Calvert County*
Alexamder Somerville, dns
John Weems, Jr.
William Lyles, dns
Edward Reynolds
Benjamin Mackall IV
Richard Parran, dns
Caroline County*
Thomas White
William Richardson
Isaac Bradley
Nathanial Potter
Thomas Goldsborouth
Benson Stainton, dns
Cecil County
John Veazy, Jr.
William Ward
Stephen Hyland
Charles County*
William Smallwood
Francis Ware
Josias Hawkins
Joseph Hanson Harrison
Daniel Jenifer
John Dent
Thomas Stone
Walter Hanson, dns
Robert Townshend Hooe, dns
Dorchester County
Robert Goldsborough
William Ennalls
Henry Steele
John Ennalls
Robert Harrison
Henry Hooper
Matthew Brown
Frederick County - Lower District*
Henry Griffith
Thomas Sprigg Wooton
Nathan Magruder, dns
Evan Thomas
Richard Brooke
Richard Thomas
Zadock Magruder, dns
William Baker, dns
Thomas Cramphin, Jr.
Allen Bowie
Frederick County - Middle District*
John Hanson, Jr., dns
Thomas Price
George Scott, dns
Benjamin Dulany, dns
George Murdock, dns
Philip Thomas
Alexander Contee Hanson
Baker Johnson
Andrew Scott
Harford County*
William West, dns
Aquila Hall, dns
Richard Dallam
Thomas Bond, of Thomas
John Love
John Paca
Benedict Edward Hall
Benjamin Rumsey, dns
Nathanial Giles, dns
Jacob Bond
Kent County*
Thomas Smyth
William Ringgold
Joseph Nicholson, Jr.
Joseph Earle
William Hall, dns
Prince George's County
Robert Tyler
Joseph Sim
Josias Beall
John Rogers
Addison Murdock
William Bowie
Benjamin Hall, of Francis
Osborn Sprigg
Queen Anne's County
Turbett Wright
Richard Tilghman Earle
Solomon Wright
John Brown
Thomas Wright
St. Mary's County
Abraham Barnes
Henry Greenfield Sothoron
Jeremiah Jordan
Somerset County
Peter Waters
John Waters
George Dashiell
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman, chair
Edward Lloyd
Nicholas Thomas
Robert Goldsborough IV
Worcester County
Peter Chaille
John Done
William Morris

1. The Proprietary Assembly that adjourned on April 19, 1774, was the last legislative session of the proprietary government. After that, Governor Eden prorogued the Assembly regularly until he ordered it dissolved on June 12, 1776, and called for a new election.

During the years 1774-1776, the powers of government increasingly came to be exercised by the extra-legal assemblies. In all there were nine meetings of six appointed or duly elected provincial conventions. Apparently neither contemporaries nor subsequent publishers of the extant proceedings were certain how to differentiate separately elected and self-contained conventions from those sessions that were merely a continuation of an adjourned meeting. This confusion partly results from the ambiguity of the surviving journals. On July 3, 1776, the penultimate Convention decreed that its own dissolution date would be August 1, 1776. The last entry on July 6, however, recorded that "the convention adjourns till Thursday the first day of August next..." For convenience each session is designated numerically as a distinct convention, although there were elections only to what are here called the second, fourth, fifth, sixth, and ninth conventions.

The First Convention was an informal meeting of ninety-two delegates from the counties charged with formulating Maryland's response to the Boston Port Act. As the revolutionary movement grew, the conventions evolved into formal assemblies of representatives elected in much the same manner as the proprietary Lower House. These conventions were concerned with financial, legal, and military matters and gradually became the de facto, if not de jure, government.

Governor Eden's authority was acknowledged until June 23, 1776, when he boarded a British ship to return to England. Two days later the Eighth Convention resolved that his call for the election of a new proprietary assembly would not be obeyed and the proprietor's control of Maryland was officially denied.

Formal appointments survive for only those counties marked with an asterisk; the lists of delegates for the other counties are based on attendance at the Convention.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 24, 2009Maryland State Archives