Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 3 - April 2, 1894

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

John Walter Smith, President of the Senate
James H. Preston, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
James M. Sloan (R)
Anne Arundel County
Robert Moss (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
Charles H. Evans (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
William Cabell Bruce (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
Thomas G. Hayes (D)
Baltimore County
John Hubner (D)
Calvert County
Thomas Parran (R), e
Caroline County
Thomas A. Smith (D)
Carroll County
Pinkney J. Bennett (D)
Cecil County
Charles C. Crothers (D)
Charles County
Louis C. Carrico (D)
Dorchester County
Joseph H. Johnson (D)
Frederick County
Jacob M. Newman (D)
Garrett County
Dr. Robert A. Ravenscroft (R)
Harford County
William B. Baker (R)
Howard County
John G. Rogers (D), pres p.t.
Kent County
William T. Hepbron (D)
Montgomery County
Hattersly W. Talbott (D)
Prince George's County
William D. Bowie (D)
Queen Anne's County
John B. Brown (D), r
Woodland P. Finley (D), e
St. Mary's County
Washington Wilkinson (R)
Somerset County
Levin L. Waters (D)
Talbot County
Oswald Tilghman (D)
Washington County
David Seibert (D)
Wicomico County
E. Stanley Toadvin (D)
Worcester County
John Walter Smith (D), pres

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John Jones (R)
Hugh McMillan (R)
John H. Shuck (R)
William Sleeman (R)
Joseph B. Stottlemyer (R)
Anne Arundel County
James R. Brashears (D), pres p.t.
George M. Hyde (D)
George M. Murray (D)
Charles F. Sappington (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Samuel E. Atkinson (D)
Edward D. Fitzgerald (D)
William H.B. Fusselbaugh (D)
Joseph W. Hazell (D)
George E. Keenan (D)
George A. Vernetson (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
Thoma S. Baer (D)
Charles H. Carter (D)
Charles W. Field (D)
John Hemsley (D)
James H. Preston (D), spkr
Archibald H. Taylor (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
Henry Hasenkamp (D)
Joseph P. McGonigle (D)
William D. Robinson (D)
Philip Singleton (D)
Daniel W. Stubbs (D)
John F. Williams (D)
Baltimore County
John C. Bosley (D)
Thomas G. Carter (D)
James B. Councilman (D)
George S. Keiffer (D)
Frederick S. Myerly (D)
Osborne I. Yellott (D)
Calvert County
William H. Dowell (R)
Wallace Owings (R)
Caroline County
Henry R. Lewis (D)
Albert W. Sisk (D)
Carroll County
Johnzie E. Beasman (D)
John Wesley Biggs (D)
Benjamin F. Selby (D)
Noah Sullivan (D)
Cecil County
Frank H. Mackie (D)
Richard L. Thomas (D)
Goerge S. Woolley (D)
Charles County
James A. Franklin (D)
John E. Stone (D)
Dorchester County
William F. Applegarth (D)
Francis P. Phelps (D)
Levi D. Travers (D)
Frederick County
Andrew A. Annan (R)
George W. Crum, Jr. (R)
James P. Perry (R)
John R. Rouzer (R)
Melvin P. Wood (R)
Garrett County
A. Frederick George (R)
J. George Kolb (R)
Harford County
Samuel S. Bevard (D)
Dr. Thomas B. Hayward (D)
Harold Scarboro (D)
John O. Stearns (D)
Howard County
Louis P. Haslup (D)
Humphrey D. Wolfe (D)
Kent County
Enoch George Clark (D)
Thomas Romaine Strong (D)
Montgomery County
Elisha C. Etchison (D)
William H. Lamar (D)
Robert M. Mackall (D)
Prince George's County
Dent Downing (D)
George M. Smith (D)
Joseph S. Wilson (D)
Queen Anne's County
Charles W. Clements (D)
William Henry Legg (D)
John O. Phillips (D)
St. Mary's County
William F. Chesley (R)
John S. Jones (R)
Somerset County
Oliver P. Byrd (R)
Philetus H. Cannon (R)
William A. Tull (R)
Talbot County
William Collins (D)
Ormand Hammond (D)
Francis G. Wrightson (D)
Washington County
Jeremiah B. Cromer (R)
Tilghman J. Fahrney (R)
John H. Harp (R)
Norman B. Scott, Jr. (R)
Wicomico County
Ebenezer G. Davis (D)
Thomas S. Roberts (D)
Albert W.W. Washington (D)
Worcester County
Jerome T. Hayman (D)
Peter Whaley (D)
Lloyd Wilkinson (D)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 13, 2013Maryland State Archives