Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 1 - March 31, 1890

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Robert F. Brattan, President of the Senate
John Hubner, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
George A. Pearre (R)
Anne Arundel County
John Wirt Randall (R)
Baltimore City
District 1
John B. Wentz (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
John Prentiss Poe (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
Dr. Charles S. Adams (D)
Baltimore County
James D. Lindsay (D), pres p.t.
Calvert County
William C. Somervell (D)
Caroline County
John F. Dawson (D)
Carroll County
Pinkney J. Bennett (D)
Cecil County
John S. Wirt (D)
Charles County
Adrian Posey (R)
Dorchester County
George E. Austin (D)
Frederick County
Milton G. Urner (R)
Garrett County
William R. Getty (D)
Harford County
Benjamin Silver, Jr. (D)
Howard County
William B. Peter (D)
Kent County
William D. Burchinal (R)
Montgomery County
Edward Wootton (D)
Prince George's County
Charles E. Coffin (R)
Queen Anne's County
John B. Brown (D)
St. Mary's County
Washington Wilkinson (R)
Somerset County
Robert F. Brattan (D), pres
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd (D)
Washington County
Edward Stake (R)
Wicomico County
E. Stanley Toadvin (D)
Worcester County
John Walter Smith (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
James A. Cunningham (R)
James M. Mair (R)
James A. Mullin (R)
James G. Williams (R)
Anne Arundel County
James R. Brashears (D)
George W. Hyde (D)
J. Frank Krems (R)
William G. Williams (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Edward D. Fitzgerald (D), spkr p.t.
Theodore B. Fox (D)
William Fraser (D)
John Keplinger (D) 
Michale A. McCormick (D)
George Walz (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
Henry Barger (D)
Charles H. Carter (D)
George Colton (D)
Henry C. Cox (D)
John Henning Jones (D)
James H. Preston (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
Robert H. Beauchamp (R)
Charles W. Brown (R)
William C. Harden (R)
John Jamison (R)
Edward G. Rost (R)
James E. Swindell (R)
Baltimore County
John H. Drach (D)
John Hubner (D), spkr
Lawrence B. McCabe (D)
Frank Parlett (D)
Edward N. Rich (D)
William Slade (D)
Calvert County
Francis Gantt (R)
Tilghman W. Sparklin (R)
Caroline County
Edward E. Goslin (D)
George W. Raughley (D)
Carroll County
Benjamin F. Selby (D)
Frank T. Shaw (D)
John L. Stull (D)
Michael E. Walsh (D)
Cecil County
Hiester Hess (D)
Thomas Pearce (D)
William H. Simcoe (D)
Charles County
Philip A.L. Contee (R)
William D. Mitchell (R)
George D. Mudd (R)
Dorchester County
William S. Craft (D)
Edwin T. Mace (D)
William T. Staplefort (D)
Frederick County
Ephraim L. Boblitz (D)
John W. Kauffman (R)
William P. Morsell (R)
Frank C. Norwood (R)
F. Granville Thomas (D)
Garrett County
Howard M. Kemp (R)
George W. Merrill (D)
Harford County
William B. Hopkins (D)
Noble L. Mitchell (D)
Walter W. Preston (D)
George W. Richardson (D)
Howard County
William E. Lynn (D)
Elias G. Selby (D)
Kent County
Frederick H. Taylor (D)
William J. Vannort (D)
Montgomery County
John A. Clements (D)
William Kilgour (D)
Philip D. Laird (D)
Prince George's County
Robert V. Hall (R)
William A. Meloy (R)
Raphael C.E. Parker (R)
Queen Anne's County
William W. Busteed (D)
William E. Temple (D)
William P. Thompson (D)
St. Mary's County
John F. Cecil (R)
Joseph H. Ching (R)
Somerset County
Abraham L. Dryden (R)
William E. Ford (R)
George A. Somers (R)
Talbot County
William Collins (D)
Clement R. Leonard (D)
James M. Lowe (D)
Washington County
John H. Harp (R)
Martin L. Keedy (R)
Lewis C. Remsberg (R)
Moses Whitson (R)
Wicomico County
James K. Covington (D)
Isaac N. Hearn (D)
Georege W. Truitt (D)
Worcester County
Sidney W. Lane (D)
Edgar W. McMaster (D)
Robert J. Showell (D)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 13, 2013Maryland State Archives