Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 4 - April 3, 1882

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

George Hawkins Williams, President of the Senate
Otis Keilholtz, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
William Brace (R)
Anne Arundel County
George Wells (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
John Gill, Jr. (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
William H. Bians (D)
Baltimore County
George Hawkins Williams (D), pres
Calvert County
John T. Bond (D)
Caroline County
Andrew B. Roe (R)
Carroll County
Henry Vanderford (D)
Cecil County
Levi R. Mearns (D)
Charles County
F. Matthews Lancaster (R)
Dorchester County
Henry Lloyd (D)
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Garrett County
William R. Getty (D)
Harford County
Edward M. Allen (R)
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D), r
Edwin Warfield (D), e
Kent County
William T. Hepbron (D)
Montgomery County
Joseph T. Moore (R)
Prince George's County
Richard H. Magruder (R)
Queen Anne's County
William T.P. Turpin (D)
St. Mary's County
Joseph S. Allston (R)
Somerset County
Robert F. Brattan (D)
Talbot County
I. Davis Clark (R)
Washington County
Joseph H. Farrow (R)
Wicomico County
T. Augustus Parsons (D), pres p.t.
Worcester County
George W. Bishop (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John Fatkin (R)
C.F. Hetzel (R)
C.F. McAleer (R)
B.L. Turner (R)
Anne Arundel County
Samuel G. Acton (D)
Frank A. Bond (D)
George W. Hammond (D)
John G. Hopkins (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Augustus Berkemeier (D) 
Charles R. Hamilton (D)
Thomas McCosker (D)
Levin F. Morris (D)
Henry Welles Rusk (D)
James Young (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
Henry Duvall (D)
Aquilla H. Greenfield (D)
John H. Handy (D)
Edward M. Kirkland (D)
John A. Ostendorf (D)
Patrick Reilly (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
Bernard L. Harig (D)
Joseph G. Johnson (D)
Otis Keilholtz (D)
A.A. Rose (D)
Henry A. Schultz (D)
Charles J. Wiener (D)
Baltimore County
Andrew Banks (D)
Joshua G. Bosley (D)
Dr. J. Wolff Burton (D), dns, d
Edwin J. Farber (D)
Charles E. Fendall (D), e
John Sterett Gittings (D)
Wilmot Johnson (D), spkr p.t.
Calvert County
James C. Chaney (R)
George W. Dowell (R)
Caroline County
James Green (R)
Thomas W. Jones (R)
Carroll County
Joseph W. Berrett (D)
Henry Galt (D)
Edward W. Leeds (D)
David A.C. Webster (D)
Cecil County
James A. Lewis  (D)
William B. Rowland  (D)
Duncan Veazey (D)
Charles County
Samuel G. Lancaster (R)
William D. Mitchell (R)
Sydney E. Mudd (R)
Dorchester County
Joseph H. Johnson (D)
William Spry Sherman (D)
William T. Staplefort (D)
Frederick County
B.D. Chambers (R)
Peter Lugenbeel (R)
T.E.R. Miller (R)
Joseph E. Webster (R)
Charles L. Wilson (R)
Garrett County
Samuel J. Beachy (R)
George T. Michaels (R)
Harford County
William B. Baker (R)
James B. Preston (D)
Silas Scarboro (D)
David Wiley (D)
Howard County
Robert A. Dobbin (D)
John T. Hardey (D)
Kent County
Samuel Cacy (D)
Thomas A. Hulme (D)
Montgomery County
Joseph Dyson (D)
John M. McDonald (R)
Thomas Waters, of S. (D)
Prince George's County
Alvin M. Bond (R)
John Gourley (D)
Charles H. Stanley (D)
Queen Anne's County
Joseph Mallalieu (R)
William C. McConnor (D)
A. Randolph Weedon (D)
St. Mary's County
L.H. Canter (R)
John N. Gaves (R)
Somerset County
Robert H. Croswell (D)
Edward R. Gunby (R)
John T. Miles (D)
Talbot County
William H. Councell (R)
Robert B. Dixon (R)
William S. Grace (R)
Washington County
George A. Davis (R)
William B. Kelly (R)
Peter J. Mayberry (R)
George W. Pittman (R)
Wicomico County
Elihu E. Jackson (D)
Thomas J. Twilley (D)
King V. White (D)
Worcester County
Elijah T. Bowen (D)
Isaac T. Coston (D)
Benjamin Jones Taylor (D)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 19, 2011Maryland State Archives