Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 7 - April 5, 1880

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Herman Stump, Jr., President of the Senate
Hiram McCullough, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
John S. Combs (R)
Anne Arundel County
George Wells (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Robert M. McLane (D), r
William A. Fisher (D), e
Baltimore City
District 3
William H. Bians (D)
Baltimore County
George Hawkins Williams (D)
Calvert County
John T. Bond (D)
Caroline County
Thomas F. Garey (FN)
Carroll County
Henry Vanderford (D)
Cecil County
John M. Miller (D)
Charles County
F. Matthews Lancaster (R)
Dorchester County
Clement Sulivane (D), pres p.t.
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Garrett County
Balthaser Welfley (R)
Harford County
Herman Stump, Jr. (D), pres
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D)
Kent County
William T. Hepbron (D)
Montgomery County
George Peter (D)
Prince George's County
William B. Hill (R)
Queen Anne's County
William T.P. Turpin (D)
St. Mary's County
Robert C. Combs (D)
Somerset County
Robert F. Brattan (D)
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd (D)
Washington County
Joseph H. Farrow (R)
Wicomico County
T. Augustus Parsons (D)
Worcester County
Littleton P. Franklin (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Reuben Anthony (R)
J.J. Brace (R)
D.D. Shearer (R)
B.L. Turner (R)
Anne Arundel County
Michael Bannon (D)
William F. Owens (D)
John F. Williams (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Jesse N. Brown (D)
Henry Cashmyer (D)
Eugene Early (D)
Charles R. Hamilton (D)
Thomas McCosker (D), spkr p.t.
Levin F. Morris (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
Martin Emerich (D)
W. Campbell Hamilton (D)
Thomas G. Hayes (D)
James A.L. McClure (D)
Daniel Murray (D)
George Rhinehart (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
E.W. Albaugh (D)
William A. Boyd (D)
John S. Campbell (D)
M.W. Donavin (D), spkr p.t.
Edward O'Mahoney (D)
A.A. Rose (D)
Baltimore County
Oregon R. Benson (D)
Benjamin F. Foard (D)
H. Clay Ridgely (D)
Christopher C. Slade (D)
John C. Sullivan (D)
J. Edward Ward (D)
Calvert County
George H. Jones (D)
Wallace Owings (D)
Caroline County
Thomas F. Cox (D)
William Massey (D)
Carroll County
Benjamin F. Course (D)
Robert Sellman, Jr. (D)
T. Herbert Shriver (D)
William T. Smith (D)
Cecil County
Hiram McCullough (D)
Joseph H. Steele (D)
James M. Touchstone (D)
Charles County
Andrew G. Chapman (D)
Sydney E. Mudd (R)
Dorchester County
William J. Lambdin (R)
F.A. Newton (R)
Benjamin L. Smith (D)
Frederick County
Edward Barnard (R)
William L. Culler (R)
George W. Remsburg (R)
Christopher M. Riggs (R)
Charles L. Wilson (R)
Garrett County
Austin Speicher (R)
George W. Wilson (R)
Harford County
James B. Preston (D)
William G. Scott (D)
Murray Vandiver (D), pres p.t.
Howard County
Robert A. Dobbin (D)
John T. Hardey (D)
Kent County
William H. Ford (D)
Thomas A. Hulme (D)
Montgomery County
William Grady (D)
Thomas J. Owen (D)
George C. Patterson (D)
Prince George's County
Frank T. Browning (D)
Joseph K. Roberts (D)
DeWilton Snowden (D)
Queen Anne's County
William Henry Legg (D)
James R. Sudler (D)
St. Mary's County
John N. Graves (R)
Frank N. Holmes (R)
Somerset County
William Coulbourn, of L. (R)
John W. Reading (R)
Isaac J. Sterling (R)
Talbot County
James M. Lowe (D)
J. Marion Wooters (D)
Washington County
Thomas H. Crampton (D)
Henry Funk (D)
J.E. Holmes (R)
J. McPherson Scott (R)
Wicomico County
James C. Littleton (D)
James R. Willing (D)
Worcester County
Thomas P. Townsend (D)
Edward White (D)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 18, 2011Maryland State Archives