Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 2 - April 1, 1878

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Edward Lloyd, President of the Senate
Fetter S. Hoblitzell, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
John S. Combs (R)
Anne Arundel County
Michael Bannon (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Robert M. McLane (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
E.T. Joyce (D)
Baltimore County
Edward D. Freeman (RE)
Calvert County
Joseph A. Wilson (D), e
Caroline County
Thomas F. Garey (FN)
Carroll County
James Fenner Lee (D), pres p.t.
Cecil County
John M. Miller (D)
Charles County
F. Matthews Lancaster (R)
Dorchester County
Clement Sulivane (D)
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Garrett County
Balthaser Welfley (R)
Harford County
Herman Stump, Jr. (D)
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D)
Kent County
William T. Hepbron (D)
Montgomery County
George Peter (D)
Prince George's County
William B. Hill (RE)
Queen Anne's County
Budd S. Ford (D)
St. Mary's County
Robert C. Combs (D)
Somerset County
James U. Dennis (D)
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd (D), pres
Washington County
David H. Newcomer (R)
Wicomico County
Thomas Humphreys (D)
Worcester County
Littleton P. Franklin (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
William Brace, Jr. (R)
Patrick Carroll (D)
William McMahon McKaig (D)
J.B. Oder (D)
Anne Arundel County
Samuel G. Acton (D)
George W. Nutwell (D)
William Snowden (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Augustus Berkemeier (D)
Alfred P. Burt (D)
Robert W. Hays (D)
Fetter S. Hoblitzell (D), spkr
Thomas McCosker (D)
Samuel Sands Mills (D), d
Levin F. Morris (D), e
Baltimore City - District 2
W. Campbell Hamilton (D)
Eugene Higgins (D)
John S. Hunichenn (D), e
Thomas P. Kernan (D)
Isidor Rayner (D)
J. Thomas Scharf (D)
John F. Wiley (D), d
Baltimore City - District 3
John S. Campbell (D)
Bernard L. Harig (D)
John L. Matthews (D)
John G. Mitchell (D)
Henry Sander (D)
Asa H. Smith (D)
Baltimore County
Andrew Banks (D)
Dr. J. Wolff Burton (D)
Malcolm H. Johnston (D)
Wilson Townsend (D)
George H. Williams (D)
John I. Yellot (D)
Calvert County
Thomas B. Jones (D)
John C. Parker (D)
Caroline County
James Massey (FN)
Charles H. Todd (FN)
Carroll County
Frank Brown (D)
Frank T. Newbelle (D)
Robert Sellman, Jr. (D)
T. Herbert Shriver (D)
Cecil County
William M. Knight (D)
James M. Touchstone (D)
James Turner (D)
Charles County
Samuel Cox, Jr. (D)
William D. Mitchell (R)
Dorchester County
Isaac H. Houston (D)
Joseph H. Johnson (D)
Samuel M. Travers (D)
Frederick County
Lot Hartsock (R)
William H. Hinks (R)
William J. Leib (R)
Peter Lungenbeel (R)
Christopher M. Riggs (R)
Garrett County
George W. Blocher (R)
George W. Wilson (R)
Harford County
Silas Scarboro (D)
William G. Scott (D)
Murray Vandiver (D), pres p.t.
Howard County
John S. Tracey (D)
H.H. Tyson (D)
Kent County
George W. Spencer (D)
George H. Thompson (D)
Montgomery County
Montgomery Blair (D)
William M. Canby (D)
Howard Griffith (D)
Prince George's County
Francis M. Hall (RE)
George C. Merrick (RE)
J. Alfred Osborn (RE)
Queen Anne's County
Richard B. Carmichael, Jr. (D)
John H.W.G. Weedon (D)
St. Mary's County
Joseph H. Key (D)
Asa A. Lawrence (R)
Somerset County
Ephraim G. Polk (D)
William H. Roach (D)
George T. Rowe (D)
Talbot County
Edmund L.F. Hardcastle (D)
Philip Francis Thomas (D)
Washington County
Joseph H. Farrow (R)
Nathaniel Fiery (D)
Joseph Harrison (D)
William H. Perkins (R)
Wicomico County
Samuel H. Fooks (D)
Thomas J. Turpin (D)
Worcester County
Samuel K. Dennis (D)
W. Sidney Wilson (D)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 18, 2011Maryland State Archives