Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Regular Session of January 5 - April 3, 1876

Special Session of April 20 - April 21, 18761

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (ID) - Independent Democrat; (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Daniel Fields, President of the Senate
Lewis C. Smith, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Thomas G. McCulloh (D)
Anne Arundel County
Michael Bannon (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Francis P. Stevens (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
E.T. Joyce (D)
Baltimore County
Edward D. Freeman (RE)
Calvert County
Nathaniel Duke (R), ev2
Caroline County
Daniel Fields (D), pres
Carroll County
James Fenner Lee (D)
Cecil County
William M. Knight (D)
Charles County
George D. Mudd (ID)
Dorchester County
Francis P. Phelps (D)
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Garrett County
William R. Getty (D)3
Harford County
John Carroll Walsh (D), pres p.t.
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D)
Kent County
William T. Hepbron (D)
Montgomery County
Nicholas Brewer (D)4
Prince George's County
S. Taylor Suit (R)5
Queen Anne's County
Budd S. Ford (D)
St. Mary's County
Chapman Billingsley (D), d
Asa Lawrence (D), e
Somerset County
James U. Dennis (D)
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd (D)
Washington County
David H. Newcomer (R)
Wicomico County
Thomas Humphreys (D)
Worcester County
William J. Aydelott (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Henry R. Atkinson (D)
John R. Brooke (D)
George M. Rawlings (D)
William O. Sprigg (D)
Anne Arundel County
James H. Hodges (D)
James S. Robinson (D)
Frederick Rullman (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
Augustus Berkemeier (D)
Fetter S. Hoblitzell (D)
C.W. Lewis (D), r
John T. McGlone (D)
John J. McWilliams (D)
Harry Welles Rusk (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
Thomas Coburn (D)
John Gill, Jr. (D), spkr p.t.
Henry B. Hart (D)
Henry E. Loane (D)
Charles J. McAleese (D)
William E. Stewart (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
Edward L. Albaugh (D)
Dr. E.J. Chaisty (D)
John J. Fenton (D)
B.L. Harig (D)
Marcus Hess (D)
Henry Sanders (D)
Baltimore County
Oliver P. Baldwin, Jr. (RE)
William H. Curtis (RE)
Dr. James J. Given (RE)
James E. Hooper (RE)
Robert S. Smith (RE)
William Whitelock (RE)
Calvert County
Samuel R. Bird (R)
John Turner (R)
Caroline County
Robert B. Culbreth (D)
Dr. G.W. Goldsborough (R)
Carroll County
Frank Brown (D)
Harrison H. Lamotte (D)
Jacob Rinehart (D)
Somerset R. Waters (D) 
Cecil County
Alexander H. Briscoe (D)
Albert Constable (D)
William Ward (D) 
Charles County
Daniel W. Hawkins (R)
F. Matthews Lancaster (R)
Dorchester County
William J. Lambdin (D)
Washington A. Smith (ID)
Edmund G. Waters (R)
Frederick County
William H. Hinks (R)
John A. Koons (R)
Robert E. Linthicum (R)
Henry Clay Naill (R)
Christopher M. Riggs (R)
Garrett County
William R. Barnard (R)
Richard T. Browning (D)
Harford County
Andrew Boyle (D)
Patrick H. Rutledge (D)
Murray Vandiver (D)
Howard County
John R. Clark (D)
John J. Donaldson (D) 
Kent County
Stephan A. Boyer (D)
Lewin Usilton (D) 
Montgomery County
William M. Canby (D)
Howard Griffith (D)
Somerset O. Jones (D)
Prince George's County
William H. Gwynn, of Thomas (D)
Samuel B. Hance (D)
DeWilton Snowden (D) 
Queen Anne's County
Charles E. Cocky (D)
Willard H. Neal (D)
St. Mary's County
John A. Dnnbar
Ignatius E. Mattingly
Somerset County
Samuel S. Ford (R)
Elisha J. Gunby (R)
Benjamin Lankford (R)
Talbot County
H. Clay Dodson (R)
Nehemiah C. Fitzjarrell (R)
Washington County
Joseph H. Farrow (R)
Henry Ranger (R)
J. McPherson Scott (R)
Lewis C. Smith (D) , spkr
Wicomico County
Benjamin R. Dashiell (D)
William G. Gordy (D)
Worcester County
Henry J. Onley (D)
John R. Purnell (D)

1. Only the Senate met at the Special Session.
2. Election voided; no Senator represented Calvert in the Special Session.
3. Did not attend the Special Session.
4. Did not attend the Special Session.
5. Did not attend the Special Session.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 14, 2013Maryland State Archives