Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Regular Session of January 7 - April 6, 1874

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (ID) - Independent Democrat; (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

John Lee Carroll, President of the Senate
Jesse K. Hines, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Thomas G. McCulloh (D)
Anne Arundel County
William H. Tuck (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John R. Blake (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Francis P. Stevens (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
Isaac M. Denson  (D), r
Baltimore County
T. Sturgis Davis (D)
Calvert County
Henry Williams (D)
Caroline County
Daniel Fields (D)
Carroll County
John K. Longwell (D), pres p.t.
Cecil County
William M. Knight (D)
Charles County
George D. Mudd (R)
Dorchester County
Francis P. Phelps (D)
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Garrett County
William R. Getty (D)
Harford County
John Carroll Walsh (D)
Howard County
John Lee Carroll (D), pres
Kent County
George W. Spencer (D)
Montgomery County
Nicholas Brewer (D)
Prince George's County
S. Taylor Suit (R)
Queen Anne's County
James T. Earle (D)
St. Mary's County
Chapman Billingsley (D)
Somerset County
George R. Dennis (D), r
Robert F. Brattan (D), e
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd (D)
Washington County
Z.S. Claggett (D)
Wicomico County
Andrew J. Crawford (D)
Worcester County
William J. Aydelott (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
William Brace, Jr. (R)
James Park (R)
C.B. Wack (R)
John Wier (R)
Anne Arundel County
Dr. Eli J. Henkle (D)
George W. Nutwell (D)
James S. Robinson (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
J. Nelson Foster (D)
Charles R. Hamilton (D)
Thomas H. Hamilton (D)
Thomas McCosker (D)
John J. McWilliams (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
John Gill, Jr. (D)
Henry B. Hart (D)
Henry E. Loane (D)
Charles J. McAleese (D)
John Staylor, Jr. (D)
William E. Stewart (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
John J. Fenton (D)
Aquilla H. Greenfield (D)
Jacob Groh (D)
B.L. Harig (D)
Eugene T. Joyce (D)
James McColgan (D)
Baltimore County
Charles A. Buchanan (D)
Robert Fowler (D), d
William S. Keech (D)
D. Marsh Matthews (D)
John Merryman (D)
Lewis Turner, Jr. (D)
Andrew Banks (D), e
Calvert County
Samuel R. Bird (R)
John Turner (R)
Caroline County
John F. Dawson (D)
John H. Williams (R)
Carroll County
Thomas C. Brown (D)
Henry Galt (D)
Henry Vanderford (D)
Somerset R. Waters (D) 
Cecil County
James Black Groome (D), r
James A. Mackey (D)
James Turner (D)
James A Davis (D), e
Charles County
Daniel W. Hawkins (R)
F. Matthews Lancaster (R)
Dorchester County
J.J. M. Gordy (D)
Eugene Hodson (D)
Oliver P. Johnson (D)
Frederick County
Andrew Annan (R)
John A. Koons (R)
Lewis Lamar (R)
Job M. Miller (R)
Lohn L. Nicodemus (R)
Garrett County
E.H. Glotfelty (R)
Richard J. West (D)
Harford County
Nathan S. Grafton (D)
Otho S. Lee (D)
Dr. David Riley (D)
Howard County
Littleton Maclin (D)
Claudius Stewart (D)
Kent County
Jesse K. Hines (D), spkr
Dr. Samuel A. Merritt (D)
Montgomery County
Oilver H.P. Clark (D)
John T. Fletchall (D)
Greenbury M. Watkins (D), spkr p.t.
Prince George's County
Latimer A. Etchison (R)
William Latchford (R)
A. Van Robey (R) 
Queen Anne's County
Thomas H. Kemp (D)
J. West Thompson, Jr. (D)
St. Mary's County
Thomas H. Bond (D)
R. Johnson Colton (D) 
Somerset County
William Coulbourn (R)
E.F. Duer (R)
John S. Sudler (R)
Talbot County
John B. Seth (ID)
William H. Valliant (R)
Washington County
Alonzo Berry (D)
George Freaner (D)
W.H. Grimes (D)
A.K. Stake (D)
Wicomico County
James L. Bedsworth (ID)
William J. Leonard (ID)
Worcester County
Alfred D. Merrill (ID)
William C. Priott (R)

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 14, 2013Maryland State Archives