Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Regular Session of January 3 - April 1, 1872

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (ID) - Independent Democrat; (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Henry Snyder, President of the Senate
Arthur Pue Gorman, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Alfred Spates (D)
Anne Arundel County
William H. Tuck (D)
Baltimore City
District 1
John R. Blake (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Henry Snyder (D), pres
Baltimore City
District 3
Isaac M. Denson  (D)
Baltimore County
T. Sturgis Davis (D)
Calvert County
Henry Williams (D)
Caroline County
Daniel Fields (D)
Carroll County
John K. Longwell (D)
Cecil County
John M. Miller (D)
Charles County
Barnes Compton (D), pres p.t.
Dorchester County
Daniel M. Henry (D)
Frederick County
Lewis H. Steiner (R)
Harford County
William B. Stephenson (D)
Howard County
John Lee Carroll (D)
Kent County
George W. Spencer (D)
Montgomery County
William O. Sellman (D)
Prince George's County
George W. Wilson (D)
Queen Anne's County
James T. Earle (D)
St. Mary's County
George Frederick Maddox (D), d
James S. Downs (D), e
Somerset County
George R. Dennis (D)
Talbot County
Charles M. Jump (D)
Washington County
Z.S. Claggett (D)
Wicomico County
Andrew J. Crawford (D)
Worcester County
William E. Timmons (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John Coles (R)
G.E. Porter (R)
Jasper Robinette (R)
Charles Young (R)
Anne Arundel County
Dr. Joseph I. Duvall (D)
Dr. Eli J. Henkle (D)
Dr. George Wells (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
John H. Cooper (D)
J. Nelson Foster (D)
Charles R. Hamilton (D)
Thomas H. Hamilton (D)
Louis A. Jamart (D)
Thomas McCosker (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
James L. Clark (D)
George Colton (D)
George A. Kirk (D)
John Staylor, Jr. (D)
William E. Stewart (D)
John M. Travers (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
Dr. E.J. Chaisty (D)
George A. Feig (D)
Elias Griswold (D)
B.L. Harig (D)
William T. Markland (D)
James McColgan (D)
Baltimore County
Andrew Banks (D)
Sylvester Ford (D)
George Litzinger (D)
Samuel T. Shipley (D)
Jervis Spencer, Jr. (D)
Lewis Turner, Jr. (D)
Calvert County
John T. Bond (D)
L.G. Sparrow (D)
Caroline County
William H. Deweese (D)
Dr. Alexander Hardcastle (D)
Carroll County
Harrison H. Lamotte (D)
Lewis A.J. Lamotte (D)
Trusten Polk (D)
James H. Steele (D)
Cecil County
James Black Groome (D)
Levi R. Mearns (D)
Andrew J. Pennington (D)
Charles County
Andrew G. Chapman (D)
Frederick Stone (D), spkr p.t.
Dorchester County
John A.L. Radcliffe (D)
Washington A. Smith (D)
William T. Vickers (D)
Frederick County
Theodore C. Delaplane (R)
Charles W. Miller (R)
Lycurgus N. Philips (R)
Jonathan Routzahn (R)
Charles F. Rowe (R)
Harford County
William Baldwin (D)
Dr. David Riley (D)
Joseph M. Streett (D)
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D), spkr
Edwin Linthicum (D)
Kent County
Jesse W. Hurtt (D)
William B. Wilmer (D)
Montgomery County
Oilver H.P. Clark (D)
George W. Hilton (D)
Samuel Riggs, of R. (D)
Prince George's County
Richard W.W. Bowie (D)
Dr. Frederick Sasscer (D)
Henry T. Scott (D)
Queen Anne's County
Roderick W. Eareckson (D)
Budd S. Ford (D)
St. Mary's County
R. Johnson Colton (D)
John A. Dunbar (D)
Somerset County
James W. Dougherty (D)
William H. Roach (D)
Robert J. Waller (D)
Talbot County
Robert R. Butler (D)
William Goldsborough (D)
Washington County
Charles Ardinger (R)
David H. Newcomer (R)
Moses Whitson (R)
Augustus H. Young (D)
Wicomico County
Joshua Johnson (D)
William J. Langrell (D)
Worcester County
Littleton P. Franklin (D)
John T. Parker (D)

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 15, 2013Maryland State Archives