Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Regular Session of January 5 - April 4, 1870

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican

Barnes Compton, President of the Senate
Fredinand C. Latrobe, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Alfred Spates (D)
Anne Arundel County
Eli J. Henkle (D), pres p.t.
Baltimore City
District 1
William Kimmel (D)
Baltimore City
District 2
Henry Snyder (D)
Baltimore City
District 3
Isaac M. Denson (D)
Baltimore County
James C. Clarke (D)
Calvert County
John C. Parker (D)
Caroline County
Daniel Fields (D)
Carroll County
Nathan Browne (D)
Cecil County
John M. Miller (D)
Charles County
Barnes Compton (D), pres
Dorchester County
Daniel M. Henry (D)
Frederick County
Joshua Biggs (D)
Harford County
William B. Stephenson (D)
Howard County
John Lee Carroll (D)
Kent County
William Welch (D)
Montgomery County
William O. Sellman (D)
Prince George's County
George W. Wilson (D)
Queen Anne's County
James T. Earle (D)
St. Mary's County
G. Frederick Maddox (D)
Somerset County
Christopher H. Hyland (D)
Talbot County
Charles M. Jump (D)
Washington County
James H. Grove (D)
Wicomico County
Lemuel Malone (D)
Worcester County
William E. Timmons (D)

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Anthony Kean (D)
Jacob Meyers (D)
George Percy (D)
John M. Standish (D)
James Wilson (D)
Anne Arundel County
R.W. Baldwin (D)
E.G. Kilbourn (D)
Dr. George Wells (D)
Baltimore City - District 1
John R. Blake (D)
Charles H. Evans (D)
Edward H. Fitzgerald (D)
Richard J. Penn (D)
John Roney (D)
James R. Willing (D)
Baltimore City - District 2
George Colton (D)
George A. Kirk (D)
Fredinand C. Latrobe (D), spkr
James L. McLane (D)
John F. Wiley
Greenbury Wilson (D)
Baltimore City - District 3
William E. Collins (D)
John F. Ehlen (D)
Isaiah Gardner (D)
Fetter S. Hoblitzell (D)
William T. Markland (D)
John H. Marshall (D)
Baltimore County
Daniel W. Cameron (D)
John N. Carroll (D)
Edward S.W. Choate (D)
Thomas B. Gatch (D)
Colombus I. Shipley (D)
Lewis Turner, Jr. (D)
Calvert County
Dr. James I. Duke (D)
Henry S. Owings (D)
Caroline County
Robert J.W. Garey (D)
Dr. Alexander Hardcastle (D)
Carroll County
William H. Crouse (D)
John H. Jordon (D)
George A. Shower (D)
Airheart Winters (D)
Cecil County
George Biddle (D)
John Owens (D)
William Richards (D)
James Touchstone (D)
Charles County
Andrew G. Chapman (D)
John W. Mitchell (D)
Dorchester County
Benjamin H. Harrington (D)
George J. Meekins (D)
Samuel W. Woolford (D)
Frederick County
Noah Bowlus (D), spkr p.t.
Henry R. Harris (D)
John T. McCreery (D)
J. Alfred Ritter (D)
John B. Thomas (D)
William White (D)
Harford County
William M. Ady (D)
William Baldwin (D)
J.T.C. Hopkins (D)
Joseph M. Streett (D)
Howard County
Arthur Pue Gorman (D)
William M. Merrick (D)
Kent County
Horatio Beck (D)
William B. Wilmer (D)
Montgomery County
George W. Hilton (D)
John W. Veitch (D)
Greenbury M. Watkins (D)
Prince George's County
Charles S. Duvall (D)
Fendall Marbury (D)
Richard Wootton (D)
Queen Anne's County
John B. Brown (D)
Joel Thomas (D)
St. Mary's County
Jefferson D. Loker (D)
Thomas Martin (D)
Somerset County
Robert F. Brattan (D)
Benjamin Lankford (D)
Talbot County
Ormond Hammond (D)
E.L.F. Handcastle (D)
Washington County
John Murdock (D)
Alexander Neill (D)
David Seibert (D)
J. Monroe Sword (D)
John Welty (D)
Wicomico County
Andrew J. Crawford (D)
William G. Gordy (D)
Worcester County
Samuel K. Dennis (D)
John R. Purnell (D)

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 15, 2013Maryland State Archives