Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 21, 1849 - March 9, 1850

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

William Lingan Gaither, President of the Senate
John R. Franklin, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Daniel Blocher
Anne Arundel County
Edward Hammond, dcl
John S. Sellman, e
Baltimore City
Charles M. Keyser
Baltimore County
Wilson M. Cary
Calvert County
Daniel Kent
Caroline County
Thomas Alexander Turner, d
Arthur J. Willis, e
Carroll County
William Roberts
Cecil County
Hiram McCullough
Charles County
John Matthews
Dorchester County
Francis P. Phelps
Frederick County
David Naill
Harford County
James Moores
Kent County
William S. Constable
Montgomery County
William Lingan Gaither, pres
Prince George's County
John D. Bowling
Queen Anne's County
Matthias George
St. Mary's County
James T. Blakistone, pres p.t.
Somerset County
John H. Done
Talbot County 
Samuel Hambleton, Jr.
Washington County
William B. Clarke
Worcester County
Peter Whaley

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John Everett
Richard Fairall
John Frantz, of Joseph
Jefferson M. Price
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Burgess
John M.S. Causin
John Cook
James Kent
Adam C. Warner
Baltimore City
Sidnor S. Donaldson
Charles J.M. Gwinn
Oliver F. Hack
Johin Marshall
Charles S. Spence
Baltimore County
Joshua Hutchins
Oliver P. Macgill
Joseph Walker
Thomas I. Welsh
Samuel Worthington
Calvert County
Basil S. Dixon
George W. Dowell
George W. Weems
Caroline County
Willis Charles
Edgar Plummer
Alexander Ridgaway
Carroll County
Elias Brown
Samuel A. Lauver
George Motter
Lewis Trumbo
Cecil County
Noble Biddle
Richard I. Foard
Milton Y. Kidd
Ricahrd L. Thomas
Charles County
James D. Carpenter, spkr p.t.
George Gardiner
Richard T. Merrick
Dorchester County
Daniel M. Henry
William W. Mace
Washington A. Smith
Jacob Wilson
Frederick County
William P. Anderson
Daniel S. Biser
Benjamin A. Cuningham
Thomas H. O'Neal
Jacob Root
Harford County
Abraham Cole
Henry D. Farnandis
John Hawkins
Hugh C. Whiteford
Kent County
Thomas Baker
William F. Smyth
Samuel W. Spencer
Montgomery County
Washington Bonifant
William T. Glaze
Alexander Kilgour
Stephen N.C. White
Prince George's County
Oden Bowie
Daniel C. Digges
Joseph J. Duvall
Thomas J. Marshall
Queen Anne's County
Charles E. Skinner
James Temple
Lloyd Tilghman
St. Mary's County
Benjamin C. Harris
George C. Morgan
Edward J. Plowden
Somerset County
John Fleming
Benjamin Lankford
Thomas W.P. Rider
Joshua S.H. Trader
Talbot County
William S. Denny
Edward Lloyd, Jr.
Isaac C.W. Powell
Washington County
Jeremiah S. Besore
Elie Crampton
Elias Davis
Jacob Smith
Andrew R. Stake
Worcester County
William J. Ayedott
James F. Bravard
John R. Franklin, spkr
William James Leonard

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 26, 2013Maryland State Archives