Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 27, 1847 - March 10, 1848

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

William Williams, President of the Senate
William Blakistone, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
Daniel Blocher
Anne Arundel County
John S. Sellman
Baltimore City
Charles M. Keyser
Baltimore County
Wilson M. Cary
Calvert County
John Parran
Caroline County
Richard C. Carter
Carroll County
William Roberts
Cecil County
Hiram McCullough
Charles County
John Matthews
Dorchester County
Francis P. Phelps
Frederick County
David Naill
Harford County
James Moores
Kent County
William S. Constable
Montgomery County
William Lingan Gaither
Prince George's County
William D. Bowie
Queen Anne's County
Matthias George
St. Mary's County
James T. Blakistone
Somerset County
William Williams, pres
Talbot County 
Samuel Hambleton, Jr.
Washington County
William B. Clarke
Worcester County
Peter Whaley

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Henry Brown
Williams Coombs
George W. Kildow
John Galloway Lynn
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Donaldson
John T.B. Dorsey
Thomas S. Iglehart, r
James S. Owens
Nicholas B. Worthington
Baltimore City
Mendes I. Cohen
Nathaniel Cox
Francis Gallagher, r
Elias Ware, Jr.
William Pinkney Whyte
Baltimore County
Samuel Brady
James Carroll, Jr.
Charles R. Howeard, of James
Joshua Hutchins
Samuel Worthington
Calvert County
Hatch D. Billingsley
Thomas J. Grahame
John Turner
Caroline County
William H. Downes
Robert H. McKnett
Thomas Melvin, Jr.
Carroll County
John B. Boyle
Tobias Cover
Nicholas Kelly
Jacob Powder
Cecil County
Robert Cather
James H. Jamar
John H. Miller
Samuel A. West
Charles County
Robert Gray
Henry H. Hawkins
Daniel Jenifer, Jr.
Dorchester County
James B. Chaplain
John H. Hodson
Benjamin G. Keene
Reuben Tall
Frederick County
Gideon Bantz
John D. Gaither
Peter Grabill
William Lynch
John Need
Harford County
Abraham Cole
Henry D. Farnandis
Luther M. Jarrett
Hugh C. Whiteford
Kent County
John E. Cacy
John H. Tilden
Benjamin Chambers Wickes
Montgomery County
James N. Allnutt
Washington Bonifant
Alexander Kilgour
Thomas Neel
Prince George's County
William Pinkney Brooke
Thomas W. Claggett
Thomas Duckett
Thomas Martin
Queen Anne's County
John W. Downes
Samuel T. Harrison
Philemon B. Hopper, Jr.
St. Mary's County
William Blakistone, spkr
George D. Coad
William H. Dunkinson
Somerset County
Nathaniel C. Conner
Benjamin I. Dashiell
Sydney C. Long
Levin Tyler
Talbot County
Benjamin M. Bowdle
Daniel Leonard
Edward Lloyd, Jr.
Washington County
James Biays
Hezekiah Boteler
Robert Fowler
George French
George L. Zeigler
Worcester County
William J. Ayedott
James M. Fooks
Thomas Timmons
Ephraim K. Wilson

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 26, 2013Maryland State Archives