Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 25, 1843 - March 9, 1844

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Richard Thomas, President of the Senate
William H. Watson, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
John Beall
Anne Arundel County
John S. Sellman
Baltimore City
William Frick
Baltimore County
Hugh Ely
Calvert County
John Parran
Caroline County
Jacob Charles
Carroll County
William P. Maulsby
Cecil County
George R. Howard
Charles County
John Matthews
Dorchester County
William T. Goldsborough, pres p.t.
Frederick County
Richard Potts
Harford County
Otho Scott
Kent County
James B. Ricaud
Montgomery County
William Lingan Gaither
Prince George's County
William D. Bowie
Queen Anne's County
John Palmer
St. Mary's County
Richard Thomas, pres
Somerset County
William Williams, pres p.t.
Talbot County 
Nicholas Martin
Washington County
John Newcomer
Worcester County
Teagle Townsend

House of Delegates
Allegany County
James Fitzpatrick
Patrick Hammill
William W. McKaig
Samuel P. Smith
Anne Arundel County
John Johnson
Thomas Watkins Ligon
James Murray
Allen Thomas
Reuben Warfield
Baltimore City
John L. Carey
James Curley
Aaron R. Levering
Elijah Stansbury, Jr.
William H. Watson, spkr
Baltimore County
James Carroll, Jr.
Philip Poultney
Carvill S. Stansbury
Joseph Walker
Robert S. Welsh
Calvert County
James G. Allnutt
Jesse J. Dalrymple
Loach L. Weems
Caroline County
Robert T. Keene
Robert Hood McKnett
Zabdiel W. Potter
Carroll County
Samuel Ecker
Jacob Powder
William Shaw
Daniel Stull
Cecil County
Lyttleton S. Cropper
Charles Harris
Nathan Lackland
Thomas Owen
Charles County
John G. Chapman
John D. Freeman
Robert S. Reeder

Dorchester County
John W. Dail
Dr. Joseph Nicols, dns, d
Francis P. Phelps
James Augustus Stewart
James B. Chaplain, e
Frederick County
Edward Buckley
William Lynch
David W. Naill
Edward Shriver
Otho Thomas
Harford County
Thomas C. Hopkins
William J. Polk
William B. Stephenson
George Yellott
Kent County
George S. Hollyday
George W. Spencer
Charles B. Tilden
Montgomery County
Lyde Griffith
Alexander Kilgour
David Trundle
Samuel D. Waters
Prince George's County
Charles B. Calvert
Robert Ghislin
Benedict J. Semmes
William T. Wootton
Queen Anne's County
Roderick Earickson
Samuel T. Harrison
William Temples
St. Mary's County
John M.S. Causin, r
James R. Hopewell
William H. Thomas
Somerset County
Robert I. Dennis
Benjamin Lankford
Levin Phillips
William S. Waters
Talbot County
Richard Arringdale
Benjamin M. Bowdle
Philip Francis Thomas
Washington County
Edward L. Boteler
Joseph Hollman
Warford Mann
Henry Wade
William Weber
Worcester County
Levi Cathell
John R. Franklin
Ebenezer Hearn
James R.S. Purnell

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 28, 2013Maryland State Archives